Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Just sayin hello

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Just sayin hello

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2005, 01:41 AM
robotman

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just sayin hello

Well let me start by saying hello and what a great informative site this is. I have been a member for sometime now, just trying to get a idea of what to start with. I have been wanting to fly for a long time but never had the leadership of a parent growing up to help me. I came across a heek of a deal and thought why not get into it now. I am twenty-four years old and I am a robot engineer so I can finally afford to spend a little money on things. I meet this guy that gets more enjoyment out of building the planes rather than flying them.So I bought a JRPROPO radio from him and also a a great planes F-14 Tomcat with a OS65 engine,full retracts and beautiful for one hundred dollars. I talked to a guy where I work and he told me that this plane was going to be a bear to train with and he recommended I start with something a little more slow. He gave me a Piper Cub that he had just laying around and said that he would teach me how to fly. He has fifteen years experience. Well anyway he brought the plane to me and told me to meet him at the Chillicothe r/c airport a couple days later, I said no problem. Well being the independent person that I am I decided that I was going to do this on my own. I sat in my garage just getting the feel for the controls and what does what and practiced in the garage on the floor just taxing around. The next day I went down to the Peoria Stadium and thought to myself !QUOT!alright now it is do or die time!QUOT!. I had my wife and son with me. My wife video taping and my son in his stroller and me on the field. Keep in mind this is a piper electric with only a 600 spitfire motor and a E-flight 30AMP ESC. So I went out and from what I gathered here on the site I