Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

New engine question, OS 46AX

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

New engine question, OS 46AX

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2005, 04:11 PM
corporateoutcast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New engine question, OS 46AX

I'm a complete newbie to RC airplanes and installed a new OS 46AX engine this weekend and had a question about starting it. It seems like there is quite a level of resistance when cranking the engine. Is this normal? Is this the way a brand new engine behaves? I was watching a video clip of someone testing the same engine and he hand started it with what seemed to be very little to no resistance. The clip is located here, http://www.rcgroups.com/articles/rcp...s/engstart.wmv

Any ideas?

Thanks much!

Jeff
Old 11-14-2005, 04:55 PM
WCB

Default RE: New engine question, OS 46AX

The resistance you feel is the compression. Yes it's normal. When you don't feel it is when you have to worry. I would never advise a beginner to hand start an engine like on the video. I've seen a lot of people do it that know what they are doing so yes it can be done. Use a stick or a starter. Keep those fingers away from the prop.
WCB
Old 11-14-2005, 05:23 PM
corporateoutcast

got the starter yesterday!

thanks for the reply.

jeff
Old 11-14-2005, 05:29 PM
APIA

That engine is obviously broken in... They do not start with that little effort unless they have a few gallons of fuel thru them. Well you being a newb, go back and watch the video again and note that there are two things that this guy is doing WRONG. Always position yourself BEHIND the airplane whenever possible and NEVER reach around a spinning prop to remove the glow ignitor. I have personally watched a guy get badly injured (lots and lots of stitches) reaching around a propeller. Have fun and be safe...
-Tom
Old 11-14-2005, 08:32 PM
Septic_Shock