Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Advice on First Radio

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Advice on First Radio

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2005, 06:12 PM
Flatfoot

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on First Radio

Hello everyone. Newbie here. I walked into the local hobby shop looking for an electric train for my son as a Christmas present. Bad mistake. I seen all the planes hanging on the ceiling and was instantly hooked. I decided right then and there I wanted to learn and fly RC helicopters and planes (with the wifes permision!!!). Now, I've been flying for years on my computer with Microsofts Flight Simulator and already know flight basics and dynamics and realize that I'm flying from the pilots perspective and that RC flying is totally different. Since its the middle of winter here, I thought I would try to learn RC flying by practicing with a radio and an interface cord attached to my computer. (I've found some programs that allow one to learn the basics of controlling an airplane or helecopter.) I realize this will not teach me everything I need to know and learn but hopefully will help with coordination.
My question is, what radio would you guys recommend for a beginner? I'm willing to spend more to get a very nice one. One that can control different airplanes or helicopters and that can operate on different frequencys. One that can control everything from a simple trainer to more complex planes with flaps and retractable gear and helicopters. It should also be able to operate with a buddy box. I know it sounds like I'm jumping into this head first, but I plan to start with a very simple trainer and to have an instructor help at my local airfield.
Sorry this post is so long. I have many, many questions to ask and this seemed to be the place to start.

Thanks in advance,
Flatfoot
Old 12-30-2005, 06:37 PM
cbr954rr

Default RE: Advice on First Radio