Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Dead Stick!.....almost

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Dead Stick!.....almost

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2006, 02:44 AM
agexpert
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dead Stick!.....almost

I am currently flying 3 planes, but like most people, I have a favorite. It's a H9 super stick 40 with a magnum .46 xls engine. I am still learning and quite paranoid about fuel so I always top-off the tank after 2 flights....sometimes 3. My flights are generally short, 10 mins or less.

It seems like every time I fuel-up I nearly Dead-stick within the first circuit or two. I have Dead-sticked once after fueling. The engine runs erratically and nearly dies; and after a few minutes, the problem goes away.

Am I over-filling the tank? I like to fly inverted and I do aileron rolls and loops and stuff, but that does not seem to cause a problem with the engine because I usually wait until it's running fairly reliably before I try that stuff.

One more thing....It runs GREAT on the ground and I tend to run about one to two clicks rich because I don't need the speed as much as I need the engine, (and I have been told that it leans-out a bit in the air).

Any help would be worth every penny I paid for it....
Old 01-27-2006, 05:42 AM
bkdavy

Default RE: Dead Stick!.....almost

First of all, why not refuel before every take off? I never start a flight without a full tank. That way, I always know how much fuel there is at the beginning. Use a kitchen time if you don't have one on your radio. Run a full tank through the plane and time it, then use that as your guide for how long you can fly.