Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Ultra Stick 60 Balancing problem

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Ultra Stick 60 Balancing problem

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2002, 05:53 AM
Jschulwdw
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ultra Stick 60 Balancing problem

I seem to be struggling with balancing my US60 with an OS 61FX 2 stroke. The book says the CG is 4 1/8" behind the leading edge. This seemed far back to me since the wing spar is almost 1" forward of the CG. When I balance the plane on the Wing Spar i need to ad 3/4 oz to the tail. When I move the CG to 4 1/8" I need to add about 5 1/2 ounces to the tail.

My questions are:
1. Where is the CG on this model. Friends at the shop have all given their opinions but want I would like to know is where is the best CG location for a relative beginner. I can fly my Avistar with no problem but I am not an expert.

2. If I do go with where H9 says at 4 1/8" is it too much to add 5 1/2 ounces to the tail. Needless to say I am not using the most powerful engine for the plane.

Everyone’s help is greatly appreciated. I look forward to hearing the verdict.

Thanks,
Jeff
Old 12-12-2002, 06:10 AM
MikeL

No idea on the CG, but replacing the stock metal motor mount with a lighter one will shave weight and move the CG back.
Old 12-12-2002, 11:58 AM
vinnie
My Feedback: (1)

Jeff,
of the two choices opt for the forward CG with less weight. At the very least your chances of a second fight will increase significantly.

As you gain experience you can try different CG/weight combos to get the flight characteristics you want

Good Luck.
Old 12-12-2002, 01:42 PM
splitess
My Feedback: (2)

I've got an Ultra Stick 60 with a YS 91 on it. I had to cut a hole in bottom of the fuselage towards the rear of the plane and put a large battery pack in that location.

I recommend going by the book, it worked for me.