Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > The Clubhouse
Reload this Page >

Tower hobbies leaves a bad taste in my mouth

Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Tower hobbies leaves a bad taste in my mouth

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2016, 06:59 PM
tony0707

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Gentelmen ,
i have been working with nicad batteries for 25 years , build my own for 10 years
I sold my batteries ,that were slow cycled twice ,so they were ready to use by anyone
They were the only batteries available when i started in the hobby ,in 1980
i have never stopped using them , as i never had a problem with them ,in all my years flying, not once
My problems are detected ,in my shop on my bench ,not in the air
I know every possible aspect of handling these battteries and never charge over 1C
Yes ,i cycle them up to there potental when they are new ,before i use them
Yes ,you can peak charge if you desire to cut batteries usefull life in half ,which i have no desire to do
Half the usefull life of a battery pack ,is destroying the battery pack to me
i was throwing away battery pack faster than ,i have ever done in all my prior years flying ( wasting money to me )
I in fact, i thru the Acucycle Elite in the garbage ,as i tried to sell it but could not
The charger was more money when it first came out
Peak charging is worse , for NMH batts than nicads , and thats not good
That drove me back to using Nicads again
The Acucycle line is --Towers Own ,--so i do expect a degree of excellence if they choose to put there name on it
I use the Acucycle Pro and the Digipace one and two for years ,with excellent results ,so i was expecting the best from a Tower product
No body was home at Tower ,to make an ajustment for a battery Eating piece of garbage
You will not get good results, for any batttery this charger was designed to charge