Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

Laminate Thickness

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2010, 01:51 AM
Ghost_

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Laminate Thickness

Hello guys i am new to composites and i would like to ask how to calculate the laminate thickness.

For example is there a method or a matrix or something which tells you for example what cloth weight to use and how many

layers...??

Thank you in advance
Old 09-08-2010, 02:19 AM
Ghost_

Default RE: Laminate Thickness

Noone knows guys...??
Old 09-08-2010, 11:55 AM
dreadnaut
My Feedback: (5)

Laminating fabrics commonly used in RC applications vary in thickness from about .004" to about .010" thick. If you layup a 60 size fuselage with 6oz of fabric, you will get sufficient tensile strength to withstand normal flight loads, but is will be very "flexy". you can make it stiff enough by making a heavier layup, say about 10oz or so. A lighter, but more difficult way would be to make a composite sandwich. This would be a 2oz outer layer, a lightweight core of balsa or foam. and an inner layer of 3-4oz fabric. Again foam is easier to work with, and a little lighter than balsa, but balsa will be stiffer.

The website for CSTsales has some good technical info on specific fabrics. Also, carbon fiber and epoxy resin cures a bit stiffer for a given thickness than fiberglass.
Old 09-08-2010, 03:06 PM
Ghost_

dreadnaut thank you very much for your answer do you now any specific layup for laminating wings
with core and hollow molded...??
Old 09-08-2010, 10:39 PM
dreadnaut
My Feedback: (5)

The wings can be layed up similarly to the fuselage. You will need just a few ribs and a vertical grain spar.
Old 12-13-2010, 05:00 AM
TexasThermalKing

Received 1 Like on 1 Post