Search
Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

winter is coming, what about lipo's?

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2009, 01:22 PM
wagen017

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default winter is coming, what about lipo's?

This is my first year that I am going into winter with a 2m F3A electric plane. I have the impression temperatures have their effect on my lipo batteries, the internal resistance when measured cold (5 degree C, 40? F) is significantly higher then after a flight.

I would like to hear opinions about electric flight during the winter. Is it better to store lipo's and fly fuel during the winter or does it not really matter? Is there a reduction in power? I am flying a Pletty setup.

Any recommendations on storing lipos? There is a storage program on my charger which I can use. Will that take care of things? I store my lipo's in the garage where it gets cold but doesn't freeze.

Volkert
Old 10-09-2009, 01:40 PM
can773
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: winter is coming, what about lipo's?

Avoid flying in temperatures less than 10C-15C with an F3A electric model without taking precautions. If you do fly in temps lower its wise to preheat (to 40C+) your packs and reduce, or eliminate any cooling air so the packs will stay warm during the flight. An eagletree logger with a temp probe helps to identify how warm your packs are staying during flight, and then you can adjust things based on that knowledge. You can very easily over discharge packs while flying in cold weather. As long as you can keep the packs warm, you will not see any reduced performance, except maybe your own flying because your fingers are frozen!

For storage, discharge to about 3.8 V/cell and keep cool around 5C (I keep mine the refrigerator), then do a new break in (low power for 5-10 cycles) in the spring to bring them back to best performance.
Old 10-09-2009, 02:59 PM
wagen017

ORIGINAL: can773