Community
Search
Notices
HPI Monster Truck Forum Talk about HPI monster trucks here. The infamous Savage 21, SS, .25 or any other HPI MT. You can optionally discuss HPI in our general MT discussion forum if you prefer.

Little help with a new savage...?

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2013, 10:56 AM
CrazySavageRacer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Little help with a new savage...?

Hey guys go easy on me I am pretty new to the RC car world. I bought a new Savage X 4.6, and my previous experience was my sons Brama 10b (a lot of fun). I followed the break in instructions to the tee, and read a few threads here before ever starting the truck, so I am confident the truck is in good working order. I have run it a bunch of times and I am pretty gentle with it based on what I see a lot of you guys doing. But, I have used a little more than a half gallon of fuel and the motor is having a hard time starting and staying running at temps below 140°. I find the need to keep the glow plug igniter on it until 150°, and even then I may have to start it two or three times. I cleaned the air filter today and replaced the glow plug to see if that helped and initially it did. The truck started right up and ran for a bit, then it was like the oil I used to clean the air filter made its way into the engine and now I cant get it started...? Have I ruined the engine (I used a very little bit of the oil that came with the truck)? How much fuel will this engine burn before needing to be replaced usually? Can I expect an engine to last me only a half gallon of fuel? Thanks for any help!
Old 04-21-2013, 03:09 PM
nitrorc89

Default RE: Little help with a new savage...?