Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

How to change spark plug boot.

Reply
Old 02-15-2014, 02:53 PM
  #1
stevegauth30
Thread Starter
 
stevegauth30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 4,001
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default How to change spark plug boot.

Hi guys, I'm still relatively new to gasses and have a question. I had a pretty hard landing that removed the gear for me which in turn, crumpled up the boot on the spark plug lead. I have another from a bad ignition that I can't see why it wouldn't work. Is there a way to swap them?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	207.2 KB
ID:	1968776   Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	214.3 KB
ID:	1968777  
stevegauth30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 07:03 PM
  #2
Indiomike
 
Indiomike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Indio, CA
Posts: 376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just order a boot replacement kit from Valleyview RC. It is not difficult to do the replacement. I had no problem first time I tried.
Indiomike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 07:08 PM
  #3
Truckracer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I would also recommend a new plug cap rather than trying to reuse the one from the old ignition. The old ignition may have been bad due to that cap being bad. Don't chance it, just replace with a new one. They are cheap these days.
Truckracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 07:43 PM
  #4
stevegauth30
Thread Starter
 
stevegauth30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 4,001
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I actually figured out how to change it. The other ign. Was bad because I fried it. I went to charge the ign. Battery one day and couldn't get the plug into the charge jack, and so being in a hurry and all, I just unplugged the battery and plugged it directly into the charger lead, only it wasn't the battery wire, it was the freakin ign. Wire. Duhhh! Note to self, label your wires. Anyway, that was an $85 mistake. Either way, I just started the engine and it ran fine, but I'll probably just order the replacement boot anyway and change it. Thanks, Steve.
stevegauth30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 01:57 PM
  #5
3136
 
3136's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Victoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 969
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You have it sorted now but for anyone else curious how to do it look here
Spark Plug Cap Question
3136 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 05:20 PM
  #6
stevegauth30
Thread Starter
 
stevegauth30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 4,001
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3136 View Post
You have it sorted now but for anyone else curious how to do it look here
Spark Plug Cap Question
Gee, thanks. Now ya post it. LOL.
stevegauth30 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:39 AM.