Community
Search
Notices
JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

4 cell versus 5 cell

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2006, 05:43 PM
ozzieflyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4 cell versus 5 cell

Just a quick question.

Most JR servos, and other brands are rated 4.8 to 6 v.
I have been running 5 cell packs for years. But had a bad crash (PCM went into total lockout), and now a comment from an experienced flyer, that I shouldn't use 5 cells without a regulator.

I had been told many times that 5 cells is fine, and in fact I have been using 5 cells for over 10 years.

Can we confirm what the specs really are?

To me, a regulator on top of a 5 cell pack is another link to go wrong,

Confirmation would be appreciated.
Old 11-02-2006, 07:43 PM
P47 Jug - Al
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: 4 cell versus 5 cell

My from understanding from Danny, current JR receivers/servos run on both 4 and 5 cell packs unless otherwise stated and no regulator. I also noticed on a few items, JR has placed at least a few basic specs including a voltage range as displayed on the below receiver.

[link]http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products/Default.aspx?ProdID=JRPR610UL**[/link]

And there are many specs. beyound the basics that would "draw a better picture" as to the quality of a product. I too would like to see much more in this regard.

I am sure he will respond tomorrow with your answer.
Old 11-03-2006, 09:37 AM
dsnyder

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There are a couple servos that are 4.8 only (retract servos, a mini servo, and for the most part any servo connected to a gyro), however the entire JR line (unless otherwise noted) is fine to use 4.8 or 6V battery systems. I personally do use regulators often as they provide constant power to the RX and make the performance of the model more consistant from flight to flight. However they are not required on 4 or 5 cell NiCd or NiMh batteries.
Old 11-03-2006, 10:15 AM
ozzieflyer

Thanks Danny
I feel relieved.