JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

JR pinout

Reply
Old 05-26-2009, 04:39 PM
  #1
dirtybird
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR pinout

I bought a Turnigy 2.4 RF module from Hobby King. This module is for their radio but it will also fit a JR transmitter.
I want to use it to convert an old transmitter to 2.4GHZ. For that I need to know the pinout of the JR transmitter to the plug in module so I can fabricate a cable.
Can you provide me with that information?
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 11:15 AM
  #2
dirtybird
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR pinout

I learned from another post that you won't release this information. If you think I can't find it you must be very simple minded. All I have to do is find a JR Radio and make one measurement. All you are doing with this attitude is strengthening my resolve to never purchase one of your products.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 12:26 PM
  #3
slarty
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sluff, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 445
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR pinout

Horizon personnel no longer monitor these posts....  but the answer to your query is...


from the top down....

1)  Modulation Signal

2)  +6V Regulated

3)  + Vcc (Raw Battery Voltage)

4)  Ground

5)  Antenna

slarty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 02:31 PM
  #4
dirtybird
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR pinout

Thanks.
I got the answer from another thread. Your info further confirms it.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 04:20 PM
  #5
aa180335
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tulsa Ok
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just want to add, the +6 volts on pin 2 is only used on the fixed frequency transmitter module but is not required for the JR Synthized module and off brand modules(non-JR).
Pin 1 PPN is 3.3 volts peak to peak and is a positive going pulse 0 to 3.3 volts positive.
FYI Not to get off the subject but those of you installing lipo batterys in transmitters & receivers made for nicad batterys should install a small voltage regulator down stream of the ON - Off switch to power your radio to pervent over stressing your electronics. ( 7.4v down to 6v and 11.1v down to 10v will give you many good years of service,

Last edited by aa180335; 07-22-2015 at 04:22 PM.
aa180335 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 01:59 AM
  #6
aa180335
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tulsa Ok
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rc battery voltage.

I would like to point out that radio manufactures have been using regular alkaline batteries, with a voltage of 1.5 dc and although the starting voltage will drop off a bit, the maximum transmitter output is is highest when the voltage is 12v D.C. For 8 cell transmitters and 6v dc for 4 cell transmitters, receivers and other airborne equipment. If you want the best proformance out of your radio equipment use 12v and 6v regulators on your older radios. The newer radios are now designed for Lipo batteries. Always check manufacture voltage requirements to in sure good service life out of your radios. You can already buy prebuilt voltage regulators to compensate for Lipo voltages. I run regulated Lipo. power on my radios at 0.5v-1v under max recommended voltage to maintain max reliable performance. A 11.1 volt Lipo is only 11.1 volts when it is close to being discharged and the same for all Lipo batteries, when charged they are all well above their rated voltage when fully charged and, unlike alkaline batteries, there voltage does not drop off as quickly until close to the end of usable capasity and need recharging.
aa180335 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 06:16 AM
  #7
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,603
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Modern transmitters (like the module referenced in the OP) run at 3.3V, and are power-limited by law. As a result, feeding them 12V doesn't affect range one iota.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:47 PM.