Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

First plane in Solidworks

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2007, 01:00 PM
gt

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First plane in Solidworks

I'm calling upon the CAD masters to lend me a hand in drawing up an Mini Edge 540 in Solidworks. I know that there's probably already plans out there for this plane, but I like the Edge and wanted to use it a learning experience, so maybe I can design my own plane next time. Anyways I'm no pro a CAD and have no idea what the general process is for drawing up plans using a 3d model.

I started with the fuselage where I lofted some profiles to get an acceptable shape and then cut out parts of the body leaving 1/16in formers. My question now is; whats the best way to do stringers and make the slots in the formers for them. I guess thats it for now, I'll try and attach some screen shots so you guys can tell me if I've already done something wrong.

Thanks in advance,

Garrison
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv64633.jpg
Views:	1638
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	719022   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lg17831.jpg
Views:	2068
Size:	73.6 KB
ID:	719023   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xc79914.jpg
Views:	424
Size:	49.8 KB
ID:	719024  
Old 07-09-2007, 02:53 PM
Frank Sopwith

Default RE: First plane in Solidworks

Hi Garrison
I think the slots for the stringers are best made with the sweep function following the fuse contour and making exactly the right cut outs.
I did the same on my 1/5 scale Fokker FII, (sorry, I have to show off)

good luck,

Frank
Old 07-10-2007, 05:27 PM
proparc

ORIGINAL: Frank Sopwith

Hi Garrison
I think the slots for the stringers are best made with the sweep function following the fuse contour and making exactly the right cut outs.