NitroModels Support Click here to have all your questions answered directly from the NitroModels support team.

Thunder AC6 Charger never did work!!!

Reply
Old 10-04-2010, 12:27 PM
  #1
foambreaker
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Paradise, NL, CANADA
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Thunder AC6 Charger never did work!!!

Hi Support Staff. Regarding order # yhst-123131 ( 4-5 months ago ). I bought a 1450mm Airfield P-51 Shangri La after waiting for months for it to be back in stock. I needed a charger for it's 4 cell Lipo as all the other planes I bought from you have 3 cell batteries/chargers. I received the order in June and wanted to charge the battery but I got a "Connection Break" error when I plugged in the battery. I tried to get help from Nitroplanes but it was taking too long so I found the company ( Hota ) on the internet and e-mailed Candy there. She said the "board was burnt" and to send the "board" vack. So I sent back the adapter that plugs into the charger on one end and that the battery plugs into on the other end, the one with all the different size sockets for the different cell numbers. I never did receive a new board and every time I e-mail they say they have not received the part I sent back yet. It was 3 months ago that I sent it! So I ordered a new adapter and received it today. Well guess what happened, "Connection Break" again, still. I could have screamed. I've been waiting since the end of January to get this plane, and I have the plane and still can't fly!! Obviously the problem is in thecharger itself, as I charged a lead acid battery for my car with the other plug-in -the onewith the2 red and black outlets right next to the lipo balancing outlet. The problem is in the box not the adapter card/board. I have wasted an entire spring, summer, and flying season now, trying to solve this stupid little problem. So what is my next step? Send the charger back to you for an exchange? Or will you just send me out a new box/main unit? I have all the cords and connectors I just need the stupid main 'black box' - the actual body of the charger itself. What an annoying and frustrating little thing this has turned out to be! Almost half a year trying to charge a little 4-cell lipo! Please get back to me and tell me what to do next. I'll fly the 3-cell Dynam Hawk Sky and Skybus DC-3 you sent me until I hear from you!! Thanks for your help, Mark Taylor, Newfoundland Canada.
foambreaker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 10:03 PM
  #2
mikeirocz
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: st alexis de matapedia, QC, CANADA
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Thunder AC6 Charger never did work!!!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: foambreaker

Hi Support Staff. Regarding order # yhst-123131 ( 4-5 months ago ). I bought a 1450mm Airfield P-51 Shangri La after waiting for months for it to be back in stock. I needed a charger for it's 4 cell Lipo as all the other planes I bought from you have 3 cell batteries/chargers. I received the order in June and wanted to charge the battery but I got a "Connection Break" error when I plugged in the battery. I tried to get help from Nitroplanes but it was taking too long so I found the company ( Hota ) on the internet and e-mailed Candy there. She said the "board was burnt" and to send the "board" vack. So I sent back the adapter that plugs into the charger on one end and that the battery plugs into on the other end, the one with all the different size sockets for the different cell numbers. I never did receive a new board and every time I e-mail they say they have not received the part I sent back yet. It was 3 months ago that I sent it! So I ordered a new adapter and received it today. Well guess what happened, "Connection Break" again, still. I could have screamed. I've been waiting since the end of January to get this plane, and I have the plane and still can't fly!! Obviously the problem is in thecharger itself, as I charged a lead acid battery for my car with the other plug-in -the onewith the2 red and black outlets right next to the lipo balancing outlet. The problem is in the box not the adapter card/board. I have wasted an entire spring, summer, and flying season now, trying to solve this stupid little problem. So what is my next step? Send the charger back to you for an exchange? Or will you just send me out a new box/main unit? I have all the cords and connectors I just need the stupid main 'black box' - the actual body of the charger itself. What an annoying and frustrating little thing this has turned out to be! Almost half a year trying to charge a little 4-cell lipo! Please get back to me and tell me what to do next. I'll fly the 3-cell Dynam Hawk Sky and Skybus DC-3 you sent me until I hear from you!! Thanks for your help, Mark Taylor, Newfoundland Canada.
hi !!! youre probleme i thing , you needplug the both wire come out the batterie to a charger ,one +\- and one on card **** 2s,3s,4s,5s,6s try this choww Mike
mikeirocz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 02:58 AM
  #3
ss40
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Salmon Arm, BC, CANADA
Posts: 113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Thunder AC6 Charger never did work!!!

As above...you need to connect the red and black and the balance ports all to the pack for LIPO, LIFE, LION. Read the manual. Nothing wrong with the charger..probably.
PB works with only the 2 leads as you described.
ss40 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 08:39 AM
  #4
foambreaker
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Paradise, NL, CANADA
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Thunder AC6 Charger never did work!!!

Hi. Thanks for responding. I read the 37 page manual again, for the third time. It really doesn't help much as there are no pictures or diagrams, only poorly written english that must have been translated by a computer! The 2 red and black leads must connect to the thicker battery cables that connect to the plane's ESC, and the adapter card connects to the white charge plug lead coming out of the battery and to the balance port on the charger. That must be it. I'll give it a try, although the battery has a deans plug and the charger doesn't have a deans plug red and black lead. I'llconnect the charger's red and black alligator clips tothe battery's deans plugat low current just to see if the charger works. Thanks for your help!! FB
foambreaker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 01:17 PM
  #5
foambreaker
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Paradise, NL, CANADA
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Thunder AC6 Charger never did work!!!

I tried it as above and it did work. The section that tells you to hook the black and red leads to the esc jack is 1 sentence in 35 pages!  Easy to miss. One of the guys at the local flying club set me straight. Thanks.  Mark
foambreaker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 04:55 PM
  #6
blvdbuzzard
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: high deserts, CA
Posts: 3,592
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Thunder AC6 Charger never did work!!!

I have found thew perfect use for the direction that come with a lot of the poorly written, worded directions. You use them to mix epoxy on. That way you have a clean new page every time.

I too had an issue with the charger. I plugged it all in like my TrittonII and I got nothing. Well You have to plug the power leads in as well as the balance tap. Took me a while to see I did not have it hooked up all the way. Some times it is so much easier to come here and get the real directions then read through the miss spelled, hard to read directions the products come with.


Buzz.
blvdbuzzard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:48 AM
  #7
opjose
 
opjose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Poolesville, MD
Posts: 12,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Thunder AC6 Charger never did work!!!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: blvdbuzzard

I have found thew perfect use for the direction that come with a lot of the poorly written, worded directions. You use them to mix epoxy on. That way you have a clean new page every time.

Buzz.
ROTFL!

You're all TOO kind to use them that way.
opjose is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:27 AM.