Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Pylon Universe - RC Pylon Racing > Q-500 Racing
Reload this Page >

What prop for OS .46 w/ Viper 500?

Community
Search
Notices
Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

What prop for OS .46 w/ Viper 500?

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2014, 09:40 AM
markind

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question What prop for OS .46 w/ Viper 500?

Hi guys I am new to nitro engines in general and am not sure what prop to use with my OS Max .46?

Thanks!
Old 02-18-2014, 09:54 AM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 176 Likes on 151 Posts

Depends on what muffler you are running. If running a stock muffler try an APC 9x7 sport prop, if upgraded to a Jett or Ultrathrust muffler then APC 9x7.5 pylon prop.
Old 02-18-2014, 10:06 AM
markind

Ah thanks! Yes it's a stock setup and I am glad you didn't suggest a 10" or longer prop, because the ground clearance is pretty tight.

I was thinking I could add a sturdy block just over the landing strut to increase the clearance if I wanted to try a longer prop, but now I don't think I need to bother with that. I've already got a little extra clearance because I am running with 4" wheels, which I am hoping will let me takeoff and land on grass...
Old 02-18-2014, 10:49 AM
speedracerntrixie

Where are you flying a Viper off grass? Yes the gear is set up for 2..25" racing wheels and 9" or smaller props.
Old 02-19-2014, 06:47 AM
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (61)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

we fly Q500 off grass all the time at our field, with "normal" 2.25" racing wheels. We do keep the runway grass pretty short, though.

Full power takeoffs with someone holding the plane usually result in the wheels not really being on the ground for all that long..
Old 02-19-2014, 07:17 AM
Randy Etken
My Feedback: (10)