Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Building board question

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Building board question

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2007, 07:13 AM
jmurphy18

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building board question

Hello everyone
I am new to the hobby and forum. I have been lurking a bit reading and trying to decide my route. I made my first meeting last night and I ordered a Goldman Protege kit last night. What I would like is some advice on the material for a building board. I have a work surface that is 24x49 and I can gain more area when I build the wing by removing my monitor from the desktop. I am working on my sewing table, use to make stunt kites. I saw some posts on using ceiling tiles and gyp board. I would prefer not to use gyp board as it messy. Celing tiles I have to buy the whole case [] I tried rolled cork but it's real thin ~ 1/8" I would think you would want thicker material to put the pins in. I found some cork on line on a commerical site in varing thickness but not sure here what size to use. I could laminate the cork to some MDF board I have in the garage. Can you folks offer this beginner any suggestions? Looking forward to starting my 1st build.

Thanks
John
Old 03-20-2007, 07:21 AM
exeter_acres
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Building board question

I use drywall on a perfectly level work bench....
except for the initial cut to get it to fit... there is no mess at all.....

(sanding balsa will make a much bigger one!! )
Old 03-20-2007, 07:39 AM
waterloged

Hi i use celing tile sheets, you can get them single at menards, lowes or mose home supply centers from broken open lots. I get the 2'x4' for about 2.00 each. If you have one of these or a tile store around there. Good luck

Old 03-20-2007, 09:02 AM
Sneasle

Here is what I recommend if you are up for having it be heavier and less mobile.