Notices
RC Car Engines Talk about rc car nitro engines and gas engines

Nitro Engine Exhaust Filtration

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2014, 07:32 AM
curiousyooper

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nitro Engine Exhaust Filtration

Hi, I am a student and I am making a project.

I am producing my own fuel and want to filter the exhaust to make a green vehicle. I know methanol produces just H2O and CO2 which is fine, but the castor oil may smoke and produce hydrocarbons which I want to filter. I am going leave out the nitromethane as I have seen people run the engine without it on youtube (just methanol and oil).

Does anyone know of a small exhaust filter or catalytic converter I could make/use? Also has anyone had experience with running their car with just methanol and oil and the adjustments that need to be made? Any help is very appreiciated, I am new to the RC hobby.

Thank you,
curiousyooper
Old 12-02-2014, 11:14 AM
1QwkSport2.5r

Received 76 Likes on 69 Posts

Nitromethane is an oxidizer which means it carries oxygen molecules in it and quite a bit of it at that. It isn't necessary to use nitromethane in glow fuel. Nitromethane does allow a wider tuning "window" which means peak mixture could be obtained with less needle adjustments. Using no nitro in an engine designed for 20% nitro will cause the window be narrower. 1/4 turn could go from way rich to way lean whereas it could be 1/2 turn with 20% nitro. Performance suffers a bit when not using nitro - removing the head shims can help with this as methanol fuel needs a higher compression ratio to burn properly. An engine may not idle as well without nitro so a hotter glow plug will greatly improve the idle quality.