Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Classic Cars & Trucks
Reload this Page >

Please help ID classic and older nitro cars...

Community
Search
Notices
RC Classic Cars & Trucks Have a classic that is at least 15 years or older? Discuss it here!

Please help ID classic and older nitro cars...

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2013, 03:29 PM
elksniper

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help ID classic and older nitro cars...

OK, so I picked up three boxes of cars and parts and a substantial track kit from someone. In addition to a hpi RTR RS4 3 nitro road car with a manual and a Wild Willy 2 with a manual, I received these two off off-road nitro cars. I am not a complete newby, but have been out of the game for a while and when I was in, it was electric. Don't know jack about nitro.

Here is the first. I did find out a few things about this first one once I found the Land Jump 4D manual. However, what confuses me is all the Land Jumps I'm finding online have a different shock mount system and single shocks. Otherwise, looks like a Kyosho Land Jump 4D, circa early 80's. Can anyone tell me what I'm looking at? Other than needing a radio/servos and new shocks (if I can find them) or some workbench jury rigging to re-spring the rebound and put new oil in the shocks, this thing looks like it was taken care of but has been sitting for likely over 15 years.

- Also found out it is somewhat valuable. Don't plan on selling it, but it is making me want to restore it. Anyone got a ballpark value? Saw one for sale on ebay in pieces for 250 and one online complete for $750. Seriously? What a score.
- Engine? It has a Thunder Tiger. Is this a .21 motor?
- Does this thing have a 2-gear gearbox or single speed? Reverse?
- Anyone know where I can get new suspension? The front is completely gone and the rear isn't much better. I'm willing to single shock this thing if it would work.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version