Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Learning to use a hi-start

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2010, 02:02 PM
KickAce

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Learning to use a hi-start

ORIGINAL: Salinas Hawk

Hi guys
Ok, I got a basic Hiigh Start and a Spirit from Tower Hobbies, but I can only get up about 100ft or so. From there, I fly nicely, no crashes, but I can oinly keep it in the air for like a minute. Is it lack of flying skills, or set up, or what.

I followed all the instructions by the letter.

My real question is: Is this typical of new pilots, or am I doing something very wrong?

I read all of this thread, and some of the attached articles, but I couldn't identify my problem.

Note: I am a total newbie, and I have never successfully landed a 2-stroke trainer on my RealFlight, but after about 15 flights with my Spirit, that thing is almost impossible to crash. I even tried a loop. It was unsuccessful, but the Spirit didn't stall. It just kind of fizzled and drifted into level flight.

Just the same, learning to fly is minumal cause I can only keep it in the air for a minute or so.

What am I missing?

Respectfully, Salinas Hawk
What hi-start do you have...? There are differences between them such as small up-starts, 2-meter standard, 2-meter havey duty, etc... How long is the rubber/line on the one that you are using...? Ussually walk back streching the rubber 3-times it's length will give you a good launch... Does the plane rock back and shoot up like a kite or does it have more of a forward motion, could be that the tow hook is too far forward... Just a few things to check...
Old 01-14-2010, 04:35 PM
pimmnz

Received 1 Like on 1 Post