Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Good starter DLG

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2002, 07:46 PM
PhilipC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good starter DLG

Hi,
I am brand new to the entire field of r/c aviation. I saw a kid flying a DLG the other day when I was walking back from a class. I did some research and figured out that what he was flying was indeed a DLG. I thought it looked like a ton of fun. I would love to get into this hobby. I was wondering what a good plane to start out with might be, and how much I should expect to spend for the entire package (Plane, radio, etc.).

-Philip
Old 11-19-2002, 09:14 PM
Cadet

Default Good starter DLG

You've definately come to the right place!
Unfortunately a DLG doesn't make the best training platform especially if your going to learn on your own. That isn't to say that you couldn't teach yourself the ropes with a suitable model and have some fun while your at it. I assume that you have looked at the prices on DLG at this point right? Well that is quite the investment to make on a hobby that you really haven't commited (and some of us should be commited for how much we put into it ) to, also the high priced models cause much more agony to your pocket-book in the event of a crash.
So now that I've shot holes in that plan, what is there? Surprizingly there are many options still open and I'm sure that another member here can help more than I. From what you said it sounds like you are on campus, which means you don't have the unlimited space required for a larger non-handlaunched sailplane. This is where I'll leave you in the capable hands of the more experienced members of this forum.
Cheers,
Grant
Old 11-20-2002, 01:32 AM
Dan Ahearn

Default Good starter DLG