RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Reply
Old 04-11-2012, 03:47 PM
  #151
Aussie Bart
 
Aussie Bart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sale, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 396
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: mr_matt


Quote:
ORIGINAL: mr_matt

A second question, does the 18MZ support the MPDX-1?

If anyone cares the 18MZ does not support the MPDX-1, bummer,

So I assume any 12+2 radio supports the MPDX-1(s), that configuration provides up to 26 proportional and 2 switched channels.

Sorry for the aside.
As Doug said Matt, the MPDX-1 is still supported when the radio is in FAAST (14 channel) mode. All my settings were carried over into the 18 MZ without problems.

Aussie Bart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 04:26 PM
  #152
mr_matt
 
mr_matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oak Park, CA,
Posts: 9,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

WOW great news, and more detail than I got from futaba!!

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=11021060

thanks Bart!
mr_matt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:58 PM
  #153
Aussie Bart
 
Aussie Bart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sale, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 396
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Yeah I saw that post Matt and then crapped myself as I had been flying my Mig (fitted with an MPDX-1) only the week before on the new 18MZ,and had not even thought about if the MPDX-1 was compatable!!! I went out to the shed last night and had a look at my 18MZ and found that in the FASSTest mode there is no MP option in the linkage menu, but when dropped into FASST there is.
Aussie Bart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:07 AM
  #154
mr_matt
 
mr_matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oak Park, CA,
Posts: 9,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Hi Bart,

remember it is not a bug, that is an undocumented feature!

Kevin, what kind of setup are you looking at? Are you going to run one of these power distribution thingies or what?

I did notice futaba is releasing some of their very large servo mechanics on S Bus, high voltage no less!

Maybe if i sell 1/2 dozen NIB 8711's I have I can afford to buy one of them!!
mr_matt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:34 AM
  #155
Kevin_W
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 1,168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Quote:
ORIGINAL: mr_matt


Kevin, what kind of setup are you looking at? Are you going to run one of these power distribution thingies or what?

I did notice futaba is releasing some of their very large servo mechanics on S Bus, high voltage no less!

Maybe if i sell 1/2 dozen NIB 8711's I have I can afford to buy one of them!!
Matt,
For now I am just converting my Bobcat and Bandit, so I am just using 6 PWM connections for flight control surfaces and three Sbus connections for non-critical functions. I am not running any special power distribution boxes, but I will probably run an inline voltage regulator for my A-123 pack. I see no reason to spend the time and money to re-wire and re-servo two perfectly good airplanes.
I set up all the PWM functions on the Bobcat last night in about an hour. It was a very simple setup since I didn't use any mixes, but I found the software very easy to navigate and set up. My SBD-1's are supposed to arrive today so I should be able to do the Sbus programming tonight. I will need to do some mixing between PWM channels and servos that are running on Sbus, hopefully there won't be any issues with that.

So Matt, do you know the answer to whether or not the "Extra Power" telemetry connection to the receiver has to be applied only when the receiver is powered up?
I would really like to wire the ECU pack into this, but not if I have to keep it disconnected at all times when the receiver is off.
Kevin_W is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:57 AM
  #156
mr_matt
 
mr_matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oak Park, CA,
Posts: 9,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Kevin_W
So Matt, do you know the answer to whether or not the ''Extra Power'' telemetry connection to the receiver has to be applied only when the receiver is powered up?
I would really like to wire the ECU pack into this, but not if I have to keep it disconnected at all times when the receiver is off.
Kevin I don't know, ask Bart he seems to know more than futaba!

Seriously, it is generally good practice to make sure electronic devices are powered up before applying voltage to the input pins.

All I can think of is the protection circuitry. Some devices have diode protection on the input/output pins. These devices can be some sort of diode in many cases. If the other side of the diode is not energized (in this case no receiver battery) then the input can become a short or close to it when you apply the voltage at the input (the ECU battery in your case).

Not sure if this has anything to do with it or not. A good designer should have found a way around this but maybe they did not think of the use case (telemetry), it is clearly pretty new for RC.
mr_matt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 05:22 PM
  #157
k_sonn
 
k_sonn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pasadena, MD
Posts: 2,587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED



A word of caution for those who are planning to convert from the 12 FG to the 18 MZ, the channel assignments are not the same. Here's a break down for the 2 Ail + 2 Flap setup:

Channel 12 FG 18 MZ
1 Elevator Aileron
2 Rudder Elevator
3 Throttle Throttle
4 AileronRudder
5 Aileron2Aileron2
6Gear Flap
7Flap Flap2
8 Flap2 Gear
9 Aux4 Aux5
10 Aux3 Aux4
11 Aux2 Aux3
12 Aux1 Aux2


Kirk

k_sonn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:07 PM
  #158
Bob_B
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 3,493
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

You can remap the channels anyway you choose in the function menu and you can rename them as you choose too. It is the ultimate in versitility!
Bob_B is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:19 PM
  #159
Kevin_W
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 1,168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

I received my SBD-1 hubs yesterday. After about an hour or more of failing to get them programmed with the Sbus servo function in the 18mz I finally did some searching on the internet and figured out that they can only be programmed with the little programming box, or the USB interface and PC link software. Needless to say I was rather disappointed, since I had assumed that they could be programmed using the transmitter just like regular sbus servos.
I ordered the CIU-2 USB interface so I can finish the job next week.

As high as the price of this system is, it seems they could have at least included the USB interface with it since it can be useful (or even necessary) for a lot of different function on this radio.
Kevin_W is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 12:54 AM
  #160
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: k_sonn



A word of caution for those who are planning to convert from the 12 FG to the 18 MZ, the channel assignments are not the same. Here's a break down for the 2 Ail + 2 Flap setup:

Channel 12 FG 18 MZ
1 Elevator Aileron
2 Rudder Elevator
3 Throttle Throttle
4 Aileron Rudder
5 Aileron2 Aileron2
6 Gear * Flap
7 Flap * Flap2
8 Flap2 Gear
9 Aux4 Aux5
10 Aux3 Aux4
11 Aux2 Aux3
12 Aux1 Aux2


Kirk

All the channels on both the 12FG and 18MZ can be re-configured to whatever position you want, so the above does not apply, as said above the most versatile Tx's available

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:25 AM
  #161
firehorse
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kilcoy Woodford, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Hi,
is the LS slider on the left of the radio have a detent in the middle position

the one on the right does

???
firehorse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:28 AM
  #162
Carsten Groen
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,598
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

All mine (LST,LS,RS,RST) has detents in the middle, although the lefthand (LS) is a little weaker that the others!
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:57 AM
  #163
smchale
 
smchale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2,715
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: BaldEagel


Quote:
ORIGINAL: k_sonn



A word of caution for those who are planning to convert from the 12 FG to the 18 MZ, the channel assignments are not the same. Here's a break down for the 2 Ail + 2 Flap setup:

Channel 12 FG 18 MZ
1 Elevator Aileron
2 Rudder Elevator
3 Throttle Throttle
4 Aileron Rudder
5 Aileron2 Aileron2
6 Gear * Flap
7 Flap * Flap2
8 Flap2 Gear
9 Aux4 Aux5
10 Aux3 Aux4
11 Aux2 Aux3
12 Aux1 Aux2


Kirk

All the channels on both the 12FG and 18MZ can be re-configured to whatever position you want, so the above does not apply, as said above the most versatile Tx's available

Mike
Mike it would be relevant if you had a model already setup on a 12Fg with s.bus assignments and you converted to the new 18mz. Naturally, once you change the associations in the rx to match your model you'd be fine.
Enjoying the info on this new radio....suspect I'll skip right over the 14 one day. [8D]
smchale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:32 AM
  #164
Bob_B
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 3,493
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Sliders and dials(Knobs) have detents at the center position.
Bob

Quote:
ORIGINAL: firehorse

Hi,
is the LS slider on the left of the radio have a detent in the middle position

the one on the right does

???
Bob_B is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:44 AM
  #165
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

On the 12FG there is a bleep from the internal sounder when it gets there, I should think the 18MZ also has this.

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 08:03 AM
  #166
Bob_B
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 3,493
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Yes it has the beep too!
Bob_B is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:32 PM
  #167
firehorse
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kilcoy Woodford, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

uh oh..
firehorse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 04:29 AM
  #168
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Has enyone got the full 18 channels to work with the Powerbox Cockpit SRS?

m
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 01:38 AM
  #169
Aussie Bart
 
Aussie Bart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sale, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 396
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED


Quote:
ORIGINAL: mick15

Has enyone got the full 18 channels to work with the Powerbox Cockpit SRS?

m
Mick

The PB Cockpit only has 10 channels plus sequencer, if you want more you need to use the S Bus system as well.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw66546.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	98.6 KB
ID:	1752624   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kf14278.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	69.4 KB
ID:	1752625  
Aussie Bart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 02:10 AM
  #170
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Hi Bart, I can get 16 incl sequencer from mine, it's DG1 and DG2 that don't operate.

What do you mean "as well"?

m
mick15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 03:17 AM
  #171
Aussie Bart
 
Aussie Bart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sale, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 396
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Sorry Mick, my mistake. It is actually 12 channels that can be used. Ports A, B, C, D = 4 tx channels that have 2 sockets each that are matched outputs, next 7 tx channels = ports E, F, G, H, I, J, K are all single outputs, the 12th tx channel is port L but this channel can only be used for the gear sequencer. The "Mapping" function of the PB cockpit allows any tx channel to be assigned t6o any output, however in all of mine it only goes up to 12. The last one I bought and fitted was about 3 months ago in my FEJ F4, so I don't know if the software has changed but on the PB web site they still only quote "Signal amplification for a total of 12 channels and 21 servo's"

In my F4, I needed channels 13 & 14 (DG1 & 2) so I connected (Y Lead) a Futaba SBD-1 triple PWM S Bus decoder and programmed the SBD-1 to channels 13 & 14 anf this worked well..



Aussie Bart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 10:13 PM
  #172
Carsten Groen
 
Carsten Groen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,598
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

When you assign sounds to buttons etc (in the linkage menu), is it possible to adjust the volume of the sounds ?
Using the "Player" function there is a seperate volume control, but I can't find any for the sounds (like tx on/tx off, gear down etc etc)

The strange thing is that when I move the LD or RD, the sound is higher, but if playing again the sound is weaker. Every time the knob is turned, the next sound is higher in volume, but the following is then again softer, until the knob is turned again (and so on )....
Carsten Groen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 05:41 AM
  #173
Skaluf
 
Skaluf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 243
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

We have just released a new version of the 18MZ software. This release adds additional functionality to the telemetry features including synthesized voice readout of the sensor(s) status.

The timer function now has vibration alerts. The camera shutter can be assigned to a switch, max RPM can be displayed by condition and much more.

Download it now at: http://www.futabarc.com/software-updates.html

Have fun!

Steve
Skaluf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:07 AM
  #174
cairoman
 
cairoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nicosia, , CYPRUS
Posts: 1,015
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Well,

I keep getting "Update failure, the update files are not compatible with the transmitter".

For those of us, in Europe, who bought the 18 from Robbe...are there different update files???
cairoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:12 AM
  #175
Erik van Dijen
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hilversum, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 34
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA 18MZ HAS ARRIVED

Hi, the Robbe update 2.1.0 is also available from their secured site.Did you buy yours in Europe?

Regards, Erik.
Erik van Dijen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:26 PM.