Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

New color data terminal with record/playback function for Xicoy ecus

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

New color data terminal with record/playback function for Xicoy ecus

Old 02-16-2016, 03:38 AM
  #1  
Gaspar
Thread Starter
 
Gaspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arenys de Munt- BARCELONA, SPAIN
Posts: 413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default New Smart terminal with color touchscreen & record/playback function for Xicoy ecus

We are happy to announce our new data terminal, that has been developed to be light weight (22,3g/ 0.8oz) and small to be installed permanently on the airplane.
It have an 1,8" color touchscreen, uSD card slot for data recording and firmware upgrade, plus an internal memory to store over 1 hour of engine run time.
Besides the usual functions of our current data terminal, presenting the data in full color and using graphic gauges, it includes assistants for radio checking, shutdown cause and other special turbine operations.

In my view, the most innovative and useful function is the internal recorder/playback function. The terminal continuously stores all the data received from the ecu, keeping in its permanent memory all the data of last 67 minutes of engine run, without the need of the memory card. After the flight, the terminal can be pulled out of the plane and, without connecting to the ecu, just connected to a 5-10V battery, the data stored can be played back in real time, same presentation as if the engine was running. Playback mode can be still, forward or reverse, speed x1, x 10 and x100 in both directions, so that would be easy to investigate any issue at the field without the need of a computer or any other type of reader.

This data, including all engine parameters, can be saved later to a memory card, where it can be read using a text editor, or our viewer software. Also can be sent to engine manufacturer to be studied, and changes uploaded back to the ecu.

It is compatible with all xicoy ecus that use the 3 wire servo lead (Kingtech, Wren, JetsMunt, JetCentral, etc). Firmware can be upgraded trough the uSD card, so the compatibility with new ecus and future functions is assured.

Available now trough our usual dealers (DreamworkRc, etc) or directly to us.

Video with a live engine: https://youtu.be/YGTcReX0_so

Playback function: https://youtu.be/4pSC6m7yo5Q

Gaspar

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	HDT18A.jpg
Views:	897
Size:	1.37 MB
ID:	2147591   Click image for larger version

Name:	HDT18B.jpg
Views:	639
Size:	707.3 KB
ID:	2147592  

Last edited by Gaspar; 02-22-2016 at 02:31 AM.
Gaspar is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 04:57 AM
  #2  
ww2birds
My Feedback: (14)
 
ww2birds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Katonah, NY
Posts: 1,330
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Very nice Gaspar. Will look for it in the Dreamworks Catalog!

You have really been busy with all the new electronics lately ... great to see the innovation.

Dave McQ
ww2birds is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 05:43 AM
  #3  
kimhey
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Notteroy, NORWAY
Posts: 486
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Very nice!


Kim
kimhey is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 10:09 PM
  #4  
Felix Barrao
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Zaragoza, SPAIN
Posts: 183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Nice device.

The live engine in the video is the M-35 ?

Félix
Felix Barrao is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 10:51 PM
  #5  
Birdman6310
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Approx how much will the Recommended Retail price of this nice little unit be ?

Also interested to see the M35 running
Birdman6310 is offline  
Old 02-17-2016, 02:44 AM
  #6  
Quandry
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dublin, IRELAND
Posts: 519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Very nice Gaspar, great job Xicoy - continually innovating makes this a fantastic hobby!
Quandry is offline  
Old 02-17-2016, 06:34 AM
  #7  
CraigG
My Feedback: (40)
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 1,988
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Looks great. Can this terminal be used in conjunction with telemetry, specifically the Spektrum TM-1000?
CraigG is online now  
Old 02-17-2016, 06:12 PM
  #8  
DHC6
My Feedback: (6)
 
DHC6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Limoges, On, Canada
Posts: 222
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Looks very nice, just wondering what are the differences between this new unit and the current Xicoy Flight computer? I see obviously the playback option which is very cool and could prove to be very handy when out in the feild trouble shooting a problem. Especially when your away from your home base at a fly in. Very cool stuff! Will it have all the same features as the Flght computer as well? Like the GPS and the telemetry features as well?
DHC6 is offline  
Old 02-18-2016, 12:00 AM
  #9  
Gaspar
Thread Starter
 
Gaspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arenys de Munt- BARCELONA, SPAIN
Posts: 413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Manythanks for your interest in the new gadget!

Answersto the latest questions:

@Birdman6310:Planned retail price would be around 60EUR net.
@CraigG: Yes, it is compatible with all our telemetrymodules and the future Bluetooth module using a "Y" servo lead.
@DHC6:Main difference is that it is an "engine only" terminal (although canbe used to program other items like our sequencer). It don't have the internalsensors (barometric, Pitot, 3D G load), nor provision for connecting external modules,like GPS or Telemetry. Screen size is smaller, and price is lessthan half, close to our current data terminals.

Gaspar

PD: @Felix:Pls don't ask what you already know!
Gaspar is offline  
Old 02-19-2016, 11:34 AM
  #10  
Felix Barrao
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Zaragoza, SPAIN
Posts: 183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes, you are wright. I should have written.

The live engine in the video is the M-35 !!!

Félix
Felix Barrao is offline  
Old 02-20-2016, 04:55 PM
  #11  
AVIOJET
 
AVIOJET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ZARAGOZA, SPAIN
Posts: 235
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Maese Gaspar, speaking about new devices........and the new retracts controler GS 200? there is nothing in your web

BR

Jesus
AVIOJET is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 09:37 AM
  #12  
Bob Toilet
 
Bob Toilet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 477
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

So this can be used on any turbine with the
Xicoy V.10 ECU? The new ATJ SV series?
Bob Toilet is offline  
Old 02-22-2016, 02:35 AM
  #13  
Gaspar
Thread Starter
 
Gaspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arenys de Munt- BARCELONA, SPAIN
Posts: 413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes, it works with all Xicoy ecus that use the 3-wire connection. 107K, 108K, JetsMunt brushless ecus and Jetcentral Powerpacs.

Gaspar
Gaspar is offline  
Old 02-22-2016, 11:30 AM
  #14  
BluFox
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

This new product developed by the premier electronics "guru" within the jet community. We (Anita and I) are proud and privileged to offer this unit to all Jet Central, KingTech and other mfg's. who operate their turbine with the V10 ECU. Additionally, Jet Central powerpak owners as well, now have the ability to view the complete operation of their turbine.

Read again, the value/benefit of this newest release from Gaspar in the first post of this thread. . .all this for a fraction of the cost of other systems offered. $65.95 USD plus shipping.

See us at Florida Jets to see for yourself. Yes, we will connect directly to your system for a complete demonstration.

Thank you,
Eric and Anita Clapp
A & E Jets USA
BluFox is offline  
Old 03-20-2016, 04:33 PM
  #15  
tp777fo
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,062
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Got 2 of these gizmos from Eric Clapp. Mounted one in my FB Dolphin (white) and one in my Ultra Flash under construction (red). Neat little device. I am still working on finding just the right spot to make easy to see and reach. I expect to set up the turbine parameters on the Flash tomorrow.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	xicoy1.jpg
Views:	586
Size:	2.52 MB
ID:	2153367   Click image for larger version

Name:	xicoy3.jpg
Views:	543
Size:	2.22 MB
ID:	2153368  
tp777fo is offline  
Old 08-22-2019, 11:09 AM
  #16  
Snake Bite
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Air Sequencer Programming

Hello,
My name is Jake. I am a new Xicoy customer. I am useing two dual action units and one single action unit, plus the sequencer in my Skymaster 1/4 scale Hawk jet. This is the first time with this company and it products. Are there any manuals depicting the programming and operational setup of the sequencer and I just received the Smart Data Terminal in the mail today? Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.
Respectfully,
Jake
Snake Bite is offline  
Old 08-22-2019, 11:40 PM
  #17  
Jgwright
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Norfolk , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,406
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Jake

Xicoy has the manuals on its web pages. If you look in the content of each of the products you will see links. The sequencer is :-
Seq1_0.pdf

John
Jgwright is offline  
Old 08-23-2019, 11:13 AM
  #18  
Snake Bite
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Air Sequencer Programming

Thank you John,
I just purchased the Smart Data Terminal Controller. My local hobby shop said they contacted Xicoy and this Smart data terminal would program the air sequencer controller. I connected the SDT to the air retract sequencer and there is no indication providing a way to setup mthe air system. Can you suggest what I am doing wrong? Does the "Smart Data Controller" talk to the air sequencer? If so, how do I change it over to talk with the air sequencer?

Thank you for your time and information!
Respectfully,

Mike Jacobs
Snake Bite is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.