Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

First Jet help

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

First Jet help

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2018, 04:15 PM
smittymgs
My Feedback: (9)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Jet help

Gentlemen
A loaded question for all you experienced turbine guys. I am looking for suggestions for my first turbine. Full disclosure I have 20 yrs experience in RC, park flyers up to 100cc but none in turbines. Right now I am flying 90-105MM electric jets and I have an aviation backround.
I am interested in scale with my first choice being the F15 or F16. I am not interested in top speed, more scale flying, nose high high alpha landings, transition from low speed to the vertical etc. Which of the various options would be best for a simple tailerons light weight simple setup to acheive this. I realize there are some threads comparing vendors but the data seems to be somewhat dated. My only scale must haves would be burner rings and a scale cockpit. I fly from a 650Ft geotex strip but have a 8000K strip available for maiden and shakedown flights. What about losing the pneumatic gear and brakes and going electric? Is a speed brake and flaps worth it (F15)? Finally Is Nall worth the trip to meet with manufacturers and Jet dudes, or should I just wait for KY Jets which I will be attending? Thank you in advance for all your help.

Matt​​​​​​​
Old 04-19-2018, 08:54 PM
Len Todd

Received 40 Likes on 35 Posts