Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Opinions on water slide decals

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Opinions on water slide decals

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2023, 07:51 AM
rcmigpilot
My Feedback: (26)

Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Opinions on water slide decals

Looking for opinions from those who have used water slide decals on military planes, specifically the ones from Tailormade. I'm getting ready to start a plane for someone and due to the set up charges for a custom set the dry transfer decals are going to be almost 4 times the cost of water slides. I've never used water slides before (other than on plastic models) and I'm concerned the edges won't blend and it will be obvious that water slides have been used instead of dry transfers. I've read through the instructions and it says best results are when the decals are placed on glossy surfaces, the softener solution melts the film and they look like they're painted on once cleared. What do they look like in the real world?
Old 07-24-2023, 10:40 AM
mgnostic

Received 86 Likes on 74 Posts

Blending the edges has more to do with whether or not you put a clear coat over the finished decal. If the decal is closely trimmed and you hit the whole plane with a clear coat it won't show anymore than any other applied marking. Frankly, it also makes a difference how clean your airplane is. I whipped up a Ratfink decal for a non scale application. I didn't clear coat over the applied decal and when the plane is dirty (as in the photo) fuel reside will show up. When the airplane is clean, it's pretty much invisible. An overall clearcoat will soften that line.
Old 07-24-2023, 10:56 AM
rcmigpilot
My Feedback: (26)

Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts