Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Jetcat mounts.

Old 06-10-2010, 04:50 AM
  #1  
Sonicwings
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Jetcat mounts.

Hi all,

I have a new Jetcat 120SX, and am doing the mounting into my jet, Now i have concern with the mount strap setup,
One thicker strap, one thin strap, both very soft ally, and the straps dont join up... How do you know when the strap is tight enough around the turbine ???
Are these straps strong enough ???
I just watched a vidio of a Wren 120 run, its mount straps look a whole lot better... I Sorta expected better from a company as big, and whom have been around a
Bunch of years....

Cheers Jeremy.
Sonicwings is offline  
Old 06-10-2010, 05:04 AM
  #2  
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,651
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetcat mounts.

Jeremy

Don't worry about it these straps have been used on the JetCats since they came out, without any problems, just make sure you put them in the appropriate position with the thin one on top and the large blanking screw inside the slot, that will automatically line up the bottom slot, the only thing I have done with them is to discard the bolts that are supposed to screw them together and put wood screws into the turbine mount, I understand that the new JetCat mount has welded nuts on the mount, it just used to be a tapped hole.

One other thing, the straps are not symmetrical so if you turbine mount is in the middle of your eflux outlet then the large dia strap needs to be packed up by an appropiate amount to get the turbine in the centre.

Hope this helps
Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Old 06-10-2010, 05:20 AM
  #3  
Sonicwings
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetcat mounts.

Hi Mike,

Ok thanks for sharing your thoughts... Yea i got fixed nuts on the thick strap, which realy are in the way, but ive worked around that,
Just seem pritty crapy mounts to me, and im having trouble deciding how tight to do the bolts that clamp up the case,
the thin small mount has its tabs bending, and i got several mm gap, if i tighten any more, its just bending the tabs...

Chrs Jeremy.
Sonicwings is offline  
Old 06-10-2010, 05:52 AM
  #4  
raptorlogo
Senior Member
 
raptorlogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: -Burgundy, FRANCE
Posts: 138
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetcat mounts.

Hello Jeremy,

Don't be afraid with the several mm gap and the bending tabs...this is normal with the Jetcat mount !

Regards,

Alain
raptorlogo is offline  
Old 06-10-2010, 06:33 AM
  #5  
olnico
 
olnico's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas.
Posts: 4,069
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetcat mounts.

Jeremy, these straps have proven to be reliable with hundreds of engines.
The new 120SX straps have been improved by the insertion of blind nuts.

To get the proper tightness, just turn the screws till they are all in contact with the straps working in a star pattern. Then add two turns for each screw.
On the first engine run at full thrust, verify that the engine does not slip in the bracket. After the first few flights verify the tightness of the straps when the engine is warm. Then you'll be good for many flights...
olnico is offline  
Old 06-15-2010, 05:19 AM
  #6  
Sonicwings
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetcat mounts.


ORIGINAL: olnico

Jeremy, these straps have proven to be reliable with hundreds of engines.
The new 120SX straps have been improved by the insertion of blind nuts.

To get the proper tightness, just turn the screws till they are all in contact with the straps working in a star pattern. Then add two turns for each screw.
On the first engine run at full thrust, verify that the engine does not slip in the bracket. After the first few flights verify the tightness of the straps when the engine is warm. Then you'll be good for many flights...
Hi Oli,

Thank you for your sharing your experience on this, now im wondering if a little blue loctite on the 4 clamp bolts is a good idea ???

Cheers Jeremy.
Sonicwings is offline  
Old 06-15-2010, 06:13 AM
  #7  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 10,864
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetcat mounts.

No!

Locktite is evil... it does not need any.

Dave
Dave Wilshere is offline  
Old 06-15-2010, 12:47 PM
  #8  
BaldEagel
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,651
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetcat mounts.

I don't know about everyone else, but the RamTec compatability of the JetCat straps seems to be a bit out of date, the majority of jets avialable today require the straps to be equal top and bottom, I think it would be much better to supply equal straps as standard and the RamTec straps as an exta, what do others think?

Mike
BaldEagel is offline  
Old 06-15-2010, 10:30 PM
  #9  
bob1393
My Feedback: (10)
 
bob1393's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Posts: 415
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetcat mounts.

Jeremy - Dreamworks sells mounting straps for JetCat turbines. Here is th link:

http://dreamworksrc.com/catalog/inde..._74_77&&page=4

These are not made by JetCat, but by a local Boeing engineer in the Seattle area. These mounting straps are a thing of beauty and just might be what you need.

Bob
bob1393 is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 03:19 AM
  #10  
Sonicwings
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetcat mounts.


ORIGINAL: bob1393

Jeremy - Dreamworks sells mounting straps for JetCat turbines. Here is th link:

http://dreamworksrc.com/catalog/inde..._74_77&&page=4

These are not made by JetCat, but by a local Boeing engineer in the Seattle area. These mounting straps are a thing of beauty and just might be what you need.

Bob
Bob, Hi,

Sounds good, but im only seeing Standard Jetcat mounts, or the ring type BVM has, Am i Missing something ??? Would love a Decent Aftermarket Mount
To finish off my Turbine...

To all whom have replied with there thoughts, Thank you heaps...

Cheers Jeremy.
Sonicwings is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 06:46 AM
  #11  
roo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dublin 15, IRELAND
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetcat mounts.

Hi. I cannot see them there either. Paul.
roo is offline  
Old 10-10-2010, 02:03 PM
  #12  
ricardinho
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: tampa, FL
Posts: 1,041
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Jetcat mounts.

hello dave long time no hear. question for you. what idle setting do you have on your 120sx. i had a friend of mine get a flame out on his titan today. he had it set at the minimum 33000. that was the reason. what do you think. i dont want this to happen to me...take care...pat
ricardinho is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.