Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Monster Trucks
Reload this Page >

One-way bearing slipping on Tmax

Community
Search
Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

One-way bearing slipping on Tmax

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2003, 02:27 AM
Doug Brindle
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default One-way bearing slipping on Tmax

Help!
I've been flying airplanes for 17+ years. I got a Tmax in April last year... and have put maybe 8 gallons of fuel thru it. I use airplane gas and mix 50-50 with car gas. Engine runs great, but the pipe is leaking air a little bit lately - sounds like it's wheezing like an old man when it's running... I'm just too lazy to fix it.

Here's my problem. I'm on my second one-way bearing (and the shaft it slides onto) in the truck. The one-way bearing doesn't grip the starting shaft very well at all, and it slips, making it impossible to start the engine. I take the back end of the engine off, clean the bearing and shaft with a paper towel - and the thing works great - starts right up. After I put a tank of fuel thru the truck, the bearing and shaft get oily, and the bearing slips on the shaft again. Clean the shaft off again, and the truck starts up just fine. I'm just tired of cleaning the bearing every time...
Is this a common problem? Is there any good fix? I shouldn't have to buy new bearings/shafts twice a year??
Old 06-17-2003, 02:38 AM
Legendary

Default I don't know if it's normal or not but,

I have read that many have had this problem with the oil! Maybe it needs new engine bearing?? I have read that some members of this forum have drilled holes in the E-Z start casing to let the oil drain but, I have also read that some say it will cause other problems with dirt and such! If you could drill holes and put some sort of cap on them so you could clean out the oil with some carb cleaner or nitro wash between runs?? Just a thought!
Old 06-17-2003, 11:56 PM