Community
Search
Notices
RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Trim Sheet Usage Questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2012, 05:05 AM
wingnutEOD

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trim Sheet Usage Questions

Lo All,
I am a novice RCpilot looking to get into flying pattern as a means to gain/hone my flying skills. During my research I've read about using various maneuvers to help determine the required adjustments to an airframe that result in neutrally stable flight characteristics in all flight attitudes. (Trim sheet maneuvers and adjustments). What I have not found is an explanation or example/case study of actually using this method. This gives rise to a couple of questions for me:

1. At what throttle setting(s) am I flying these maneuvers? If I were to mechanically trim for SaL flight at 50% throttle, then at 51% to 100% I would have positive VS flight (not SaL anymore).

2. Is going through the trim sheet an iterative process? ie. After trimming for SaL flight you are to adjust the CG via one of two maneuvers. This CG change results in a different trim requirement for SaL flight than before, so do I go back and start over with the new CG position?

I am highly interested in any input the community has on this topic. I look forward to your replies.<o></o>

Old 01-25-2012, 05:33 AM
Jetdesign
My Feedback: (8)

Default RE: Trim Sheet Usage Questions

Good questions.

1) the speed is decided by you - trim your plane for a comfortable cruising/flying speed. In pattern, it is not a requirement but we strive for constant-speed flight. Find a speed that gives you enough time between maneuvers but is fast enough that the plane is flying with authority - not fast, but fast enough that a pull or roll won't put the plane near a stall.

2) it is iterative. If you go through and end up changing your CG, you should go through the process again, as changing CG will affect almost everything.