Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Need help with my first build

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2011, 01:33 PM
JoeBoater

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with my first build

Hey All,
I've starting building an airboat and now its time to get the mechanical/electrical components together. I'm new to the RC world and Ive read up on the various parts needed but I figured I should ask some experts for some help.

A friend gave me a box of rc scrap parts, mostly from a Hobbico Skyfly and a cheap rc truck. From the Skyfly I have the transmitter(3-channel FM) and a brushed 380 motor. From the cheap rc truck all Ican reasonable salvage is ESC circuit board and a servo(it has no name or markings on it). I also have a NiCd 9.6V 700mAh battery that ive been using to test stuff and seems to hold a charge. I figured I would start working around the parts I have and if i need to replace them I will. I'm also looking to keep my costs down since its my first build.

I figure I need a reciever first but I'm not sure how to figure out which would be compatible with the transmitter. Can anyone lend some advice?

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fc90555.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	99.9 KB
ID:	1612996  
Old 05-23-2011, 05:12 AM
Texastbird

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Need help with my first build

Well you really shouldn't use a 72 mhz radio on a boat or car. That frequency is reserved for airplanes. How about a simple entry level 2.4 system like this?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=15141
Old 05-23-2011, 11:05 AM
BuschBarber
My Feedback: (2)

ORIGINAL: JoeBoater

Hey All,
I've starting building an airboat and now its time to get the mechanical/electrical components together. I'm new to the RC world and Ive read up on the various parts needed but I figured I should ask some experts for some help.