Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

servos voltage question

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2012, 09:40 AM
Bacek

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default servos voltage question

Hello.
I'm new to RC. I'm upgrading myplane to brushless, so I'm getting new motor, ESC, and new servos to replace a dead one. I understand that ESC willpower my servos.Is this particularESC (http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=18004) going to work with this particular servo ( http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=7472)?
Thank you.

Old 10-25-2012, 10:08 AM
JIMF14D

Default RE: servos voltage question

The ESC will provides at 5 vdc output to run the servos and RX. This is the typical voltage for most serovs so voltage should not be a problem. The important question to answer is can the ESC/BEC provide enough current for your system

The Hobby King ESC spec says the Bec part of it can supply 2 amps. This is on the minimum size/capacity. The servo info says nothing about current draw.

Also you do not say how many servos you have on your plane and what size/type of plane it is. Most basic BECs say they can handle maybe 4 analog servos and less digital ones.

If you have more than 3 to 4 servos you might want to consider adding a seperate BEC to your system than can proivde more amps out and drive more servos.

You might want to take a look at ESC and CCBEC info on the Castle web site for examples to see the capabilites of typical ESCs.

Also maybe look at the HitecRCD website and see their servo catalog and specs that will give you a feel for current loads of different type servos. Also Servo City has lots of info on many servo brands...Futaba and Hitec at least.

Good luck!
Jim D
Old 10-25-2012, 04:07 PM
Bacek

Thank you, JIMF14D.

Old 10-27-2012, 12:36 AM
chuckk2

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts