RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba 9C Radio

Reply

Old 12-01-2005, 11:31 PM
  #1  
davebart
Thread Starter
 
davebart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: OR
Posts: 91
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Radio

I have been thinking about upgrading my radio (Futaba 6x). I can't find any discussions about the 9C and the differences between the various 9C radios and when I read the individual descriptions in Tower Hobbies, I just get more confused. Can anyone open a discussion on these radios or any other thoughts you may have.....Thanks, Dave
davebart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 12:40 AM
  #2  
rcfury
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
rcfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 968
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

I just bought a super 9C and i just love it. Does everything i want it to do plus some. It will accept dual elevator servos when you get to that point. The programming is very easy with their pushbutton wheel. The differant TX's you find on tower is usally differant packages. You can get the TX with differant flight packs depending on your need. There is also a heli version which gives you a differant switch configuation and additional heli mixes.
rcfury is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 01:06 AM
  #3  
OldCoot
My Feedback: (47)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Luverne, AL
Posts: 215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

Ditto on the 9C Super. Excellent Radio !!
I use the 9CA since my primary interest is planks but I use it with 2 helis as well.
The only difference between the 9CA and 9CH is the position of the idle up switch and the 9CH has ratchetless throttle.
OldCoot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 01:55 AM
  #4  
submikester
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: El Segundo, CA
Posts: 1,406
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

I just got my 9C super in the mail this week. MAN! it is cool and I am excited as heck. I just spent the evening programming my Matrix for it. I finally have the programability I feel I need to get it to do the things I want, like dual rates on the rudder, spoilers p-mixed to the elevator so that I can do some harriers better - all that fun stuff.

I wish the throttle kill was a little more cut and dry. Just flip the switch and it cuts completely like on my 6EXA but we'll see how it works. On the 9C it is programmable and frankly I don't think that is a function that requires programability - just shut it off! All I need to select there is which switch it operates on. But, I digress - it isn't a perfect radio but it is a damn fine radio and one that I intend to last a looooooooooooong time.

The 6EXA was a nice radio but it is featureless compared to the 9C. The 7C looked good too but I just didn't want to compromise again and I wanted the module abilities in the 9C.

I bought it through tower where they have $30 off for spending that much (Spend $400 and get $40 off though - I didn't do that) plus they give you a $30 gift cert as well, with 4 digital servos. Seemed like a good deal to me.

I can't wait to actually use it this weekend.
submikester is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 02:23 AM
  #5  
davebart
Thread Starter
 
davebart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: OR
Posts: 91
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

Thank you for your quick input. Can I take that question one step further? Tower shows several radios. I saw the 9CA Super and the 9CH Super but some of them have more initials like the 9CAPS super, 9CAFS super and then the synthesized radios. Could you go into a little more detail. I realize some of them are different packages, some including the rx and servos of different types and some the radio only.
davebart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 03:46 AM
  #6  
stek79
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: , ITALY
Posts: 625
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

Dave,
I think "S" stands for synthetized. This is so with the 9Z: there is the 9ZAP and 9ZHP. Then the 9ZAPS and 9ZHPS that are the synt. ones.

Regarding the difference between airplane and hely, it is not so much. Both have all programs (airplane, hely and glider), the differences are:

1) A version has snap roll (spring type) switch, while hely has not.
2) A version has ratchet on throttle stick, while hely has not (i.e. the stick is without springs and it stays where you put it)
stek79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 08:33 AM
  #7  
eaglelope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 174
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

The A and H are Airplane and Helicopter configs, respectively. The 9C can do either but throttle ratcheting and switch placement is a little different between the A and H.

The F and P are FM and PCM configs, respectively. The 9C Tx can do either FM or PCM but the designation indicates which type of receiver is in the package.

Mark
eaglelope is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 08:48 AM
  #8  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,383
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

The S is the Super version.

The synth module lets you select any freqency for which you have a receiever crystal for or if you have a synth reciever you can select any available channel.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 09:16 AM
  #9  
davebart
Thread Starter
 
davebart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: OR
Posts: 91
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

That helped clarify it.....Thank you, Thank you, Dave
davebart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 01:23 PM
  #10  
submikester
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: El Segundo, CA
Posts: 1,406
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

ORIGINAL: davebart

Thank you for your quick input. Can I take that question one step further? Tower shows several radios. I saw the 9CA Super and the 9CH Super but some of them have more initials like the 9CAPS super, 9CAFS super and then the synthesized radios. Could you go into a little more detail. I realize some of them are different packages, some including the rx and servos of different types and some the radio only.
9C Super is the newest version, the "S" stands for Super.

9CAP is the airplane version, the CAH is the heli version. They are both very similar physically and have the same software. The H model has some switch placement differences and a non ratcheting throttle.

The packages on Tower:

9CAFS is the Aircraft version with a default setting of PPM/FM and an FM receiver included. It is still capable of PCM operation, in the software its default setting is aircraft, PPM.

9CHFS - same as above but the Heli model

9CAPS - Aircraft version with a default setting of PCM and a PCM receiver included. Still capable of PPM operation - just a reference to what is included (PCM RX) and the default software settings.

9CHPS - Heli version of above.

I purchased the 9CAFS with the 4 3151 digital servos and the 8 Channel RD148 RX. I was impressed that the RX is almost as small as the electron 6 I typically use.
submikester is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 10:10 PM
  #11  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

I love mine! So much I went and sold all 4 JR transmitters and 8 rx I had and now only use one 9C TX for all my flying!
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 12:46 AM
  #12  
submikester
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: El Segundo, CA
Posts: 1,406
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

Just finished putting the new Futaba 3151 Digital servos in my Matrix...wow they are faster and definitely seem more precise to respond - very quick.

Can't wait until morning...
submikester is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 10:07 AM
  #13  
nedyob
Senior Member
My Feedback: (67)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NORTHWOOD, IA
Posts: 1,381
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

I have a 9CAP (None super version) & I also have a 8UAP,
Im in the process of switching all my planes over to the 9 CAP, I know the 9CAP Cam Pac (memory modual) wont recignise the Cam PAC in the 8UAP.
Any Ideas on getting all the control settings transfered from the 8U to the 9C. Im not looking forward to reseting all my planes in the 9CAP.
Also may I add that Harry Higly has a great how to manual out on how to use the 9C & 9H when it comes time to setting up a plane or heli. I breezes right through the set up. Also Ann Marie Cross has a How to manual out too. I have both.
Well thats my question, thanks for the any input.
NEDYOB
nedyob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 08:37 PM
  #14  
rccrazedman
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Schuylkill Haven, PA
Posts: 479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

nedyob. I never had either radio but reading on futaba site you cannot transfer programming from one radio model to another. you can't even transfer a program from the 9C to the 9c super
rccrazedman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 09:37 PM
  #15  
nedyob
Senior Member
My Feedback: (67)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NORTHWOOD, IA
Posts: 1,381
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

Thats what I figured! Well I guess thats my winter project this winter. I'll keep the 8U as a stand by radio.
Thanks Crazedman
nedyob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 09:47 PM
  #16  
GarySS
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Center of the Flyover States,
Posts: 2,139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

Hi all 9C owners. Who has replaced the original TX battery with something more powerful? What did you use??????? Thanks
GarySS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 10:24 PM
  #17  
rccrazedman
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Schuylkill Haven, PA
Posts: 479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

this is what I did with the 7c I have and it would work for the 9c also. I took out the stock 600 Mah nicad battery and I Use a hobbico hydrimax 1450 Mah Nimh battery. I can run the transmitter for 5 hours before needing to recharge.
rccrazedman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:13 AM
  #18  
davebart
Thread Starter
 
davebart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: OR
Posts: 91
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

I also changed out the battery on my 6TXA to a higher Mah battery and now do not have to worry about running low on power. I also use 1400-1600 batteries in the planes as well.

And thanks for all the input on my questions. You guys are terrific....Dave
davebart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 09:40 AM
  #19  
icando3d2
My Feedback: (15)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: buchanan, VA
Posts: 160
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

please help me, i want a 9cap is the super better, in the towers book it has tx rx listed but the more i read it the more confused i get, whats ppm i think all i need is pcm IM GOING GIANT edge with ZDZ 60 WHAT DO I NEED I HAVE A 6EXA BUT IT DOESNT WORK WITH GAS ENGINES THANKS CHRIS.
icando3d2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 10:26 AM
  #20  
davebart
Thread Starter
 
davebart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: OR
Posts: 91
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

HI Chris..Go back and read the whole thread and I think most of your answer is here, especially the post by submikester...Dave
davebart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 10:30 AM
  #21  
exeter_acres
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
exeter_acres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 7,457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio


ORIGINAL: GarySS

Hi all 9C owners. Who has replaced the original TX battery with something more powerful? What did you use??????? Thanks
I bought a 2300mAh battery from Radicalrc.com... dropped right in...

I can fly for DAYS without recharging!
exeter_acres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 10:35 AM
  #22  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

I got a 1650maH pack from Radical RC. $30
ORIGINAL: GarySS

Hi all 9C owners. Who has replaced the original TX battery with something more powerful? What did you use??????? Thanks
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2005, 12:55 AM
  #23  
OldCoot
My Feedback: (47)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Luverne, AL
Posts: 215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

I am running an 1100mah nicad pack from NoBS batteries (Hangtimes Hobbies). Exact Replacement.
Will run the TX for about 3.5 hours.
OldCoot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 01:40 PM
  #24  
mikenlapaz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: La Paz BCS, MEXICO
Posts: 1,986
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

Ditto Geistware
mikenlapaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 04:45 PM
  #25  
nedyob
Senior Member
My Feedback: (67)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NORTHWOOD, IA
Posts: 1,381
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C Radio

I just got a Futaba sythasizer for my 9CAP today, I know that the high & low band thing does not matter as long as if I have the right freq. dialed in. And I need to remember to range check my plane when useing a different req. number. I was wondering if anyone has heard any problems with lost of freq. or hits when useing the sythasizer.
Also is the first dial when use: 10,20, 30 ans so on, and the second dial 1 thought 0?
like when using channel 18, dial the left dial to 10, then dial the right dial to 8?
Thanks for your input everyone & happy holidays?
NEDYOB
nedyob is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service