Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Building and Flying WWI Biplanes etc.

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

Building and Flying WWI Biplanes etc.

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2002, 03:42 PM
jchumley
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building and Flying WWI Biplanes etc.

I have limited flying experience (Almost ready to solo) and just finished building a Fourstar 60
( http://mywebpages.comcast.net/jchumley/fourstar.jpg, easy to build, looks good, waiting for weather to fly ) .

I am embarking on an ambitious project, a Proctor Nieuport 28. I have extensive experience in wood working so I think I can handle the buillding. I also work a few blocks form THe Smithsonian Air and Space where I can peruse the restoration documentation for the N28 they restored a few years ago. I have no Idea what it is like to fly one though. I have heard differing opinions about flying WWI biplanes. Am I going to end up with a great looking (I hope, I hope, I hope) plane that is no fun to fly or is it a matter of set up and expectations?

Some posts have mentioned the need for coordinated turns. What are coordinated turns?

While I am asking, I am converting a homelite 33cc to power this plane. (I would love a five cylindar radial but I could cojnvert five of these engines for less $). Will the 33cc be too much power?
Lets see. That about covers it for now. Mostly I guess I want some insight into actually flying these things.

Thanks,
Jeff
Old 12-18-2002, 03:54 PM
wrhardin

Hey JWC,