Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

My frist attempt at Zimmerit(now paint)

Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

My frist attempt at Zimmerit(now paint)

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2007, 04:07 PM
shelden3

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My frist attempt at Zimmerit(now paint)

I've been working on my Tiger for about 3 months off and on, have spent much of that time in research, mulling over photos, stories etc about said tank. I was almost to the point of applying the camo pattern when I decided to apply zimmerit to my tank. I had to sand off the base color, and figure out how to do said job. There are many ways to apply zimmerit and I'm by far no expert as my photos will attest.

I opted to go with Squadron Putty, using a plastic knife as a trowel and used a pinion gear from an RC motor. The result I think turned out well for the most part. It doesn't have the uniformity that some pics show, yet has the rough hand applied look that many other pics show. I applied the putty in lines along the hull then using the plastic knife i smoothed it to about 1-2mm, getting the right thickness was critical as well as the drying time to make it go well. I then would use a pinon gear on a piece of wire, think of the pinion gear as a roller. I would then roll it along the wet putty after allowing it to set for 3-5 minutes, that sounds like a long time but by the time you get it on, spread it, clean your spreader make sure the pinion is clean and roll it you are at about 3-5 minutes. It went fairly fast I thought. I'm using Tamiya colors and krylon oxide red primer, that really seems to help the yellow. I will overcoat in yellow then apply the patter with green and brown/red, per instructions. Well I have the turret to do know, enjoy and I welcome any constructive criticism.

charlie
OKC,OK
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr50088.jpg