Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

American Eagle B-24 Liberator build

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

American Eagle B-24 Liberator build

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2010, 11:31 PM
ben.roper

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default American Eagle B-24 Liberator build

Last September I crashed my B-24 at Bomber Field in Monaville Texas. I hate to say this but it was because of pilot error and not because of the plane (stress of flying at an airshow). Anyway, I've started building my new B-24 and I thought it might be good to post the build. I'm not an expert builder but this will be my second time building this plane. I learned a lot from the first plane and hope to make this second plane better and lighter. For example the first B-24 came out at 40 lbs. exactly without any lead weight in the nose. I believe I can make it even lighter this next time. I also plan on adding more detail like a retractable turret, rivets, and panel lines.

I've attached a couple pictures of the first B-24 I built and I've attached a picture of what the new B-24 looks like right of the box from American Eagle.

Please have patience with me on this build. My first B-24 took almost three years to build. This second one shouldn't take as long, however, I'm still going to school for my MBA. We'll see how long this one will take.

Thanks.
Old 02-27-2010, 11:38 PM
ben.roper

Default RE: American Eagle B-24 Liberator build

Well, I've been able to work on my fowler flap hinges for the B-24. Here is what I've come up with. I had AK Models laser cut the hinges out for me. Derek (who did my CAD drawings) and AK Models did an excellent job. I would totallyrecommend them for laser cutting your parts. I've also been working on the wing joiner box and I'll get pictures of that posted soon too.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj21655.jpg
Views:	319
Size:	84.1 KB