Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > Redcat Racing Support
Reload this Page >

Changing pinion and spur gear in a Hurricane XTE

Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Changing pinion and spur gear in a Hurricane XTE

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2014, 10:28 PM
Raeodor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changing pinion and spur gear in a Hurricane XTE

Ive done this with my old DuraTrax Evader 9 years ago and it was easy considering it was a rear mounted motor that can slide further or closer to the spur for gear changing.

I am new to red cats and Im going to be picking up my Hurricane tomorrow and I want to gear the thing for higher top speed.

I know I need to get a bigger pinion and smaller spur. What I want to know is, is with the different sized gears, am I able to adjust the motor to accommodate the different sizes? Since the gears will be different I will have to slide the motor closer or further? If so, how do I do this. Since I have not yet worked on a red cat I dont know how easy this is to accomplish.

Also, if anyone can point me to a video on this to get a better picture, that would be ideal.

Thanks,
Rae
Old 01-05-2014, 11:39 PM
foxys

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Very easy to do, the motor is mounted in slots. It just slides back and forth. Even tho it's electric, your going to want to use a VERY SMALL amount of BLUE loctite on the motor screwed. This will keep it from re-adjusting itself. Also remember top speed isn't necessarily the fast way around the track. If you gear up, remember to keep an eye on your motor temps. Any brushless will overheat the motor if over geared. It'll be fast until you de-magnetize your rotor, then you'll have a highs priced paperweight.
Old 01-05-2014, 11:52 PM
Raeodor