Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

increase top speed?

Reply
Old 12-17-2006, 12:03 PM
  #1
nitrospeed33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default increase top speed?

Hey, I have a tornado bb with 2speed, .18 and all that stuff. I wanted to know if you guys have any tips on how to make it go faster. JUst simple little tricks that don't cost anything. Any adjustments?THanks!
nitrospeed33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2006, 01:20 PM
  #2
{GBI}Harryball
 
{GBI}Harryball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: lansing, MI
Posts: 1,261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

Not something for the newbies, but you can cut your clutch spring and re-bend it. It will give you better hole shots as well as better track performance, because the clutch shoes hit the clutch bell at a higher rpm. Its one of the tricks i found out by my clutch spring breaking. Two loops cut of should work for you.
{GBI}Harryball is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2006, 02:51 PM
  #3
nitrospeed33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

Thanks for the help. Also what kind of glow plug should I use? I did some research and they said that just by getting a good glowplug for your engine(the right kind) I t would do better. I never worried about this with my old car, but what plug should I use?[sm=50_50.gif]
nitrospeed33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2006, 03:22 PM
  #4
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

os a3, hot plug, lower the number hotter the plug
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2006, 04:13 PM
  #5
nitrospeed33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

Thanks guys!peace out[8D]
nitrospeed33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2006, 10:31 PM
  #6
mozzzy_2000
 
mozzzy_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

plug will depend on the nitro% used and the outdoor temp though.
mozzzy_2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2006, 10:46 PM
  #7
nitrospeed33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

thanx guys[8D]
nitrospeed33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 07:34 AM
  #8
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

yes mozzy sorry, 20% and an a3 plug is a goon combination, i tried using a novarossi cold plug and 20% and i couldnt tune the engine, guess its too cold.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 08:20 AM
  #9
mozzzy_2000
 
mozzzy_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

yeah for 20% that would be probably too cold although a cold plug allows you to lean out the engine without burning the plug. Medium or medium cold is best for 20% nitro in most cases.
mozzzy_2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 11:54 AM
  #10
nitrospeed33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

Which brand of fuel is best? I heard that traxxas 20% is really good but what do you guys think?[8D]
nitrospeed33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 12:44 PM
  #11
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

i run odonells 20% an i am very happy with it, i run the traxxas stuff in my traxxas cars since they seem to run better on it, it could be my imagination though!!! Everyone is going to have a different opoinion on fuels, most local shops will push what they carry.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 03:26 PM
  #12
nitrospeed33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

thanx for the help
nitrospeed33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 06:42 PM
  #13
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

33% Traxxas Nitro and a Medium hot plug, Will stand your car up on end almost.
AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 06:49 PM
  #14
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

i dont think the .18 that comes with the redcats can handle that much nitro, i wouldnt listen to him.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 06:58 PM
  #15
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

Again, lol, thanks, but you don't have a Master degree in mechanic engineering like I do, so there is no possible way you could know that unless your an uber genius and we just don't know it. But thanks for the help anyway.


And don't forget to Smile and have FUN FUN FUN!!!![8D]
AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 07:13 PM
  #16
nitrospeed33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

I have a gallon of 33% traxxas fuel from my old car. But could I break in my engine on 33%? Or should I break it in on 20% and then when i want to i can just go up to 33%? and what plug would be a medium hot plug? is there a name for it?[8D]
nitrospeed33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 07:25 PM
  #17
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: AllAboutFunHobbies

Again, lol, thanks, but you don't have a Master degree in mechanic engineering like I do, so there is no possible way you could know that unless your an uber genius and we just don't know it. But thanks for the help anyway.


And don't forget to Smile and have FUN FUN FUN!!!![8D]
why would a mechanical engineer be selling cheap rc's on the road? must have flunked out of college huh? btw i am a structural engineer/architect and build for a living, if you have a degree in engineering why are you selling cheap rc's from the road?
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 07:45 PM
  #18
nitrospeed33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

okay, good to hear. now could you answer my question and then go make your own forum and fight over there.thanks
nitrospeed33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 07:56 PM
  #19
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

UHM, we sell all kinds of brand there wiz kid. Your so highly aclaimed Traxxas, Megatech, Tamiya and some other brands, I just happen to like Redcat because they have potential to be better cars at still a low price. There also great for people like me who love to Modify and change the design.

First of all Ehroof, I don't think that's any of your business why we have mobile shops or how much we make, I think your barking up the tree here my little friend.

Second I will just tell you that we make enough in two days that I was able to quit my job, I think that's all you need to know about that.

Third, for someone who claims to be trying to help you spend an awful lot of time calling Redcat cars junk


Fourth I think your a control freak and can't stand it when someone else has either a better or different idea than you, you also seem to have a hard time when someone has a different opinion then you.

Fifth why is it that if I say I own a business you say you own one and I should wish I knew what you forgot, I say i have a degree in engineering and all of the sudden you have one. Which is it, do you own a business or are you an engineer. I think your B.S.er and a copy cat that's what I think.



AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 07:58 PM
  #20
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: nitrospeed33

okay, good to hear. now could you answer my question and then go make your own forum and fight over there.thanks
LOL, he's playing very dumb game.

I would definatlly NOT break my engine in with 33% nitro, that would be very bad. Also if you are goign to use 33% after break in you want to run a little bit on the rich side, there is less oil in the 33%.
AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 07:59 PM
  #21
Chubbysdad
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 2,824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

thats pretty mature... copycat lol.. sorry had to lol
Chubbysdad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 08:06 PM
  #22
nitrospeed33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

gosh, you guys fight alot. has anyone read clremontmotorsports forum on how not to fight on these forums? you guys are a big help, but you guys sound like little kids, lol. smile and be happy[8D][8D][8D][sm=teeth_smile.gif][sm=teeth_smile.gif][sm=teeth_smile.gif][sm=49_49.gif][sm=49_49.gif][sm=49_49.gif]
nitrospeed33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 08:06 PM
  #23
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

You can try to double talk all you want, i have been in business for myself for 10+ years , i build in nyc and the 5 boro's, i have a degree in structural engineering and architecture. I have had them for many years, not since you mentioned it. Anyone here for a while will say that i have said the same thing for the last year. I dont put down redcats but i do tell the truth when it comes to them, a revo will overpower and outdrive any redcat made, you just dont like to hear it. i have said many times that they are a great, inexpensive begineer car but thats it. I have been on this thread for about a year now and help people all the time, you come in here and in a week try to take over and then you threaten me? I dont think so, i wont let you win, i dont like you, i think your a liar, you first said your cars were so expensive because you sell the starter kit, some fuel and an hour lesson, then all of a sudden you change all the bad parts, who's full of bs? Bro hopefully you do a decent business on your mobile shop because i am sure you would starve to death with your attitude on this forum. I really dont care how well your business does, i dont think it can do that well but what do i know? You can think what you want but time will tell.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 08:07 PM
  #24
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: clermontmotorsports

thats pretty mature... copycat lol.. sorry had to lol

ya that was sad, all I could think of.
AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 08:09 PM
  #25
nitrospeed33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 540
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: increase top speed?

wow![]you guys must hate eachother. shut up please and be happy. and whats a medium hot plug?????
nitrospeed33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:53 AM.