Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 11 of 11

  1. #1
    lxcoupe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    vero beach, FL
    Posts
    390
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Pin and flag or EQ6

    Flew my plane today for the first time. It is equipped with a EQ6 and the smartfly pin and flag. It has been working great till the end of the day today when I put the pin back in and it would not shut off the power... It does kill the link between my rx and tx though. If I unplug the batteries and put the pin in, then plug the batteries back it it will stay powered down till i pull the pin. When I put the pin back in it will stay on..... Both are brand new I just bought the EQ6 from TBM last month and the pin and flag from chief last week. What could have happened?
    Thanks
    Al
    EF 104\" Extra 300, DA120, Savox 2270\'\'s, JR11X

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Pin and flag or EQ6

    Hi Al,
    I guess I am a little confused about one statement. You say it does not turn off but it does kill the Tx to Rx link. If the receiver is still powered up it should not kill the link. What are the symptoms exactly, why do you think its still on when the transmitter will not work the flight system?
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Prince George, VA
    Posts
    90
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Pin and flag or EQ6


    ORIGINAL: rrritchey

    Hi Al,
    I guess I am a little confused about one statement. You say it does not turn off but it does kill the Tx to Rx link. If the receiver is still powered up it should not kill the link. What are the symptoms exactly, why do you think its still on when the transmitter will not work the flight system?
    Robert, now I'm confused again...When you said, "If the receiver is still powered up...". Doesn't the pin/flag switch (when pin is replaced) shut the power off to the Rx and if not, what other switches do we need? I'm setting up an EQ10 as we talk using the failsafe pin switch also.
    billd3
    \"Indy\" Damnbeenie

  4. #4
    lxcoupe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    vero beach, FL
    Posts
    390
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Pin and flag or EQ6


    ORIGINAL: rrritchey

    Hi Al,
    I guess I am a little confused about one statement. You say it does not turn off but it does kill the Tx to Rx link. If the receiver is still powered up it should not kill the link. What are the symptoms exactly, why do you think its still on when the transmitter will not work the flight system?
    I always get the crazy issues happening to me...lol

    OK I landed the plane on my last flight yesterday. Stuck the pin in the switch and it did not power off the servos or the RX....It did however kill the link between my RX and TX which is a spektrum DX7....In other words as soon as the pin went in the power stayed on but my link lights on the rx and remote rx went out.
    EF 104\" Extra 300, DA120, Savox 2270\'\'s, JR11X

  5. #5
    lxcoupe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    vero beach, FL
    Posts
    390
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Pin and flag or EQ6

    Pic 1:
    Batteries plugged in
    TX Off
    Pin inserted

    Pic 2:
    TX On
    Pin pulled out

    Pic 3:
    TX On
    Pin Inserted
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tr50802.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	237.2 KB 
ID:	1147614   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ez81465.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	232.9 KB 
ID:	1147615   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jo32018.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	246.5 KB 
ID:	1147616  
    EF 104\" Extra 300, DA120, Savox 2270\'\'s, JR11X

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Pin and flag or EQ6

    Hi Al,
    Thank you for the pictures. Something is definitely wrong, ALL LEDs should go out when you insert the pin. For some reason the servo regulator is staying on, even in your first picture. I will send you a new unit today. Can you e-mail me your address (I may have it on file but I don't know your last name), e-mail and phone and I will send it today. Please return your unit when you get the new one. Sorry for the inconvenience.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Pin and flag or EQ6

    Hi Bill,
    You do not need any other switches. There is something wrong with Al's unit where the servo regulator is always on but the receiver regulator turns off. On your unit, with the pin in the switch all LEDs should go out, this indicates power is off to the unit.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com

  8. #8
    lxcoupe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    vero beach, FL
    Posts
    390
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Pin and flag or EQ6

    Thanks Robert!!!
    Email sent
    EF 104\" Extra 300, DA120, Savox 2270\'\'s, JR11X

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Prince George, VA
    Posts
    90
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Pin and flag or EQ6


    ORIGINAL: lxcoupe

    Thanks Robert!!!
    Email sent
    Yep...Thanks from me too, Robert. From what I'm seeing, your service is second to none. I'm glad I chose Smart Fly.
    billd3
    \"Indy\" Damnbeenie

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Pin and flag or EQ6

    I am using the eq6 and have found it to be the very best. My question is I am using one receiver and two 7.4 5200mah battery packs. Both battery packs were fully charged and today I flew 5 flights. When I got home to charge batteries I found that only one battery was down in power. The other pack was still at full charge, this has never happened before and should I be concerned? Was one battery pack not plugged-in all the way or what? The eq6 has a pin for on off switch and feels loose to me. Is there a way to use a regular switch instead of the pin? Thank you in advance for your help. Kenny Musick

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tempe, AZ
    Posts
    941
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Pin and flag or EQ6

    Hi Kenny,
    I e-mailed you from our support e-mail you submitted.
    Robert Ritchey
    Owner, Smart-Fly
    www.Smart-Fly.com


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:53 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.