Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

OCTURA & PRATHER HELP!!

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

OCTURA & PRATHER HELP!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2006, 04:11 PM
carprigger50

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OCTURA & PRATHER HELP!!

HEY THERE GUYS,...IM NEW TO RC POWER BOATING,JUST THIS PAST YEAR.CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN AN OCTURA X670 AND A PRATHER 270.

THANX, CARP
Old 11-21-2006, 04:33 PM
Believe It
Banned

Default RE: OCTURA & PRATHER HELP!!

The 270 has a 2.74" diameter with a 4.2" pitch

The X670 has a 2.76" diameter with a 4.4" pitch
Old 11-21-2006, 04:38 PM
TIA

Does this mean the boat will technically go faster with the X670 since it is larger and has more pitch?
Old 11-21-2006, 05:11 PM
Slow Motion

ALL boat and motor combos ( even with the same equipement ) will not perform the same.
But if the motor has enough power to turn either prop, then yes, the boat will be slightly faster.
The difficulty in saying yes or no, is even worse with high speed hulls with modded motors, because any particular modded motor will shine better with a smaller, or larger prop. This due to the modding style ( test, test, and more test ).
Old 11-21-2006, 05:14 PM
TIA

Slow Motion, what would be the visual results of a boat that is over-propped?

Thanks.
Old 11-21-2006, 08:39 PM
Slow Motion

Unfortunately just watching a hull on the water doesn't always tell too much. A surface drive hull with a prop that is too small, will cavitate severely when launched, run with a too high/short rooster tail, and could slow down alot in turns. The same hull with too much prop, could be hard to accellerate, run below par for speed, have little to no rooster tail, could fall off badly turning, and if equiped with a tuned pipe, might have a hard time staying "on the pipe".