Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

Reply

Old 09-19-2010, 05:45 PM
  #551  
1MoreMinute
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
1MoreMinute's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NPR, FL
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

Thanks again.

Added that link to my favorites!!

I did a search under your name for your posts and so far havent come up with anything, but I will keep plugging away for that post from you. Thanks again.


ORIGINAL: Dockman

I don't know where it is at but, somewhere on here (RCU) I post a parts list of everything needed to go clutchless. Do I BJ55 search and look for it. When you find it it all comes from Warehouse Hobbies. I have since went even a different route where the strut sleeve pushes up into the stuffing tube and you can get them parts about anywhere. The best place to get parts is www.gizmomotors.com
1MoreMinute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 08:02 PM
  #552  
Dockman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Climax Springs, MO
Posts: 737
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran


ORIGINAL: 864IDCaprI

Thanks again.

Added that link to my favorites!!

I did a search under your name for your posts and so far havent come up with anything, but I will keep plugging away for that post from you. Thanks again.


ORIGINAL: Dockman

I don't know where it is at but, somewhere on here (RCU) I post a parts list of everything needed to go clutchless. Do I BJ55 search and look for it. When you find it it all comes from Warehouse Hobbies. I have since went even a different route where the strut sleeve pushes up into the stuffing tube and you can get them parts about anywhere. The best place to get parts is www.gizmomotors.com
The single rudder took a little getting use too.
Dockman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 08:07 PM
  #553  
Dockman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Climax Springs, MO
Posts: 737
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

Here is the link

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_92...tm.htm#9256584
Dockman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 08:10 PM
  #554  
Dockman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Climax Springs, MO
Posts: 737
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

Ignore my comment about the brakeline. I would go with the setup like danielplace shows a pictures of.
Dockman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:25 AM
  #555  
1MoreMinute
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
1MoreMinute's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NPR, FL
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

Thanks Dockman.

I bought a used set of rudders from black talon, just waiting for them to get here. I also ordered the WHH retro clutch to replace the stock junk.

They said that I will have to move the engine 1'' forward. Does anyone have this clucth that can provide some advice or pics of how to do this?

Everything to make this boat go has been ordered so I should be able to have her ready to go by this weekend if evrything gets here, will post vids and pics of it jumping some Gulf waves!
1MoreMinute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 02:13 PM
  #556  
black talon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
black talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: longwood, FL
Posts: 439
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

you should have those rudders by tomorrow. and like i said if there are any other bits and pieces you need let me know. glad to help.
black talon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 02:59 PM
  #557  
1MoreMinute
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
1MoreMinute's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NPR, FL
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

Well, just walked in the door not too long ago and they were their. Thanks again man. That was nice and quick.

Did you drop the rudder assembly at all? I noticed these were about a half inch shorter, or does that really not matter to much?


I ordered the clutch from WHH yesterday and they said I had to move the motorforward an inch, have you done this at any point? Do I need new brackets or how do I go about doing that?

Thanks again for the quick painless transaction. I appreciate it. One more step closer to getting this in the water, and hopefully by this weekend!!

ORIGINAL: black talon

you should have those rudders by tomorrow. and like i said if there are any other bits and pieces you need let me know. glad to help.
1MoreMinute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 06:18 PM
  #558  
Dockman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Climax Springs, MO
Posts: 737
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

I had a retro clutch once and quickly sold it.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40777.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	105.9 KB
ID:	1505007  
Dockman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 06:37 PM
  #559  
1MoreMinute
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
1MoreMinute's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NPR, FL
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

Wow, to me that looks more than an inch it needs to move forward. Did you return it because of the modding to the brackets?

Thanks for the picture.

ORIGINAL: Dockman

I had a retro clutch once and quickly sold it.
1MoreMinute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 06:56 PM
  #560  
Dockman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Climax Springs, MO
Posts: 737
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran


ORIGINAL: 864IDCaprI

Wow, to me that looks more than an inch it needs to move forward. Did you return it because of the modding to the brackets?

Thanks for the picture.

ORIGINAL: Dockman

I had a retro clutch once and quickly sold it.
I sold it to another member. I think I moved it 1 1/2'' and could not get the bow to lift. So I went clutchless and relearned how to drive the boat which was hard with the original JR radio. Once I bought a new Futuba it was 100 times easier to drive. Just trying to save you some headaches.
Dockman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:21 PM
  #561  
1MoreMinute
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
1MoreMinute's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NPR, FL
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

Crap. It ll probably be here tomorrow. Thanks for trying to save me some headaches. Errr.. Ill finger something out!

How come the crank isn't attached to the clutch?Is there another piece you were suppose to buy or were you just mocking it up?

Thanks again DM.


ORIGINAL: Dockman


ORIGINAL: 864IDCaprI

Wow, to me that looks more than an inch it needs to move forward. Did you return it because of the modding to the brackets?

Thanks for the picture.

ORIGINAL: Dockman

I had a retro clutch once and quickly sold it.
I sold it to another member. I think I moved it 1 1/2'' and could not get the bow to lift. So I went clutchless and relearned how to drive the boat which was hard with the original JR radio. Once I bought a new Futuba it was 100 times easier to drive. Just trying to save you some headaches.
1MoreMinute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 06:35 AM
  #562  
Dockman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Climax Springs, MO
Posts: 737
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran


ORIGINAL: 864IDCaprI

Crap. It ll probably be here tomorrow. Thanks for trying to save me some headaches. Errr.. Ill finger something out!

How come the crank isn't attached to the clutch? Is there another piece you were suppose to buy or were you just mocking it up?

Thanks again DM.


ORIGINAL: Dockman


ORIGINAL: 864IDCaprI

Wow, to me that looks more than an inch it needs to move forward. Did you return it because of the modding to the brackets?

Thanks for the picture.

ORIGINAL: Dockman

I had a retro clutch once and quickly sold it.
I sold it to another member. I think I moved it 1 1/2'' and could not get the bow to lift. So I went clutchless and relearned how to drive the boat which was hard with the original JR radio. Once I bought a new Futuba it was 100 times easier to drive. Just trying to save you some headaches.
Just mocking it up.
Dockman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 12:50 PM
  #563  
1MoreMinute
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
1MoreMinute's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NPR, FL
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

Thanks again DM.

So, since you had it set up and couldn't get the nose down, can you try and explain how you bolted the motor down after you installed that clutch? Did you mod the brackets or ? I'm going to give it a try since its already on its way. They will charge me a 15% restocking fee if I just sent it back, the lady told me that when I ordered it. So I might as well give it a try. For where we are going to use it and my wife and kid will mess with it also, id like to keep a clutch.

Thanks,
1MoreMinute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 02:31 PM
  #564  
black talon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
black talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: longwood, FL
Posts: 439
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

first thing your going to need is a 90 degree drill head for your drill,at least that's what i did and then cutoff the top inch to inch and a half of a 1/4 inch drill bit to chuck in the 90 degree head. then your ready to drill new mount holes in the stringers.
black talon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:06 PM
  #565  
grinder-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
grinder-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London, ON, CANADA
Posts: 782
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

Vid of my BJ 55 while on vac on Georgian Bay. Waves were pretty high so i was taking it easy. Sorry for the vid quality it was taken with my son's phone.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pGcpQ...el_video_title

Grinder-rcu
grinder-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 02:30 PM
  #566  
rat now
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middleburg, FL
Posts: 516
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

DDDDAAAAMMMMMNNNNN! good save!
rat now is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 03:21 PM
  #567  
rc500
Junior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

I am having trouble keeping my BJ55 running. I have adjusted carb. from lean to rich. run on top end but stop on idle.
help
rc500 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 07:36 PM
  #568  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,547
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

Set the carb at 2 turns out on the low end and 1 turn out on the high-speed needle. Usually it's a sign of the low-speed needle being lean. If it still does it, richen it another 1/8th turn.
Ron Olson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 03:58 AM
  #569  
danielplace
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ocala, Fl
Posts: 684
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Proboat Blackjack 55 Catamaran

If it is a stock 644 it may not run at 2 low 1 high. ??

Been a while since I had a 644 on anything but try 1 1/2 Low and 1 1/4 high to start and tune from there.
danielplace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2015, 06:50 AM
  #570  
IMDMAN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: aberdeen, SD
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

anyone still running there BJ55 I have gotten mine out of storage and doing a new 29.5 Gizmo motor setup. looking forward to getting back on the water.
IMDMAN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2015, 10:03 PM
  #571  
srt10
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Frederick, CO
Posts: 5,969
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'm going to do a twin brushless setup in mine
let us know how your boat runs with that big motor !
srt10 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy