Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Help identifying old hulls

Reply

Old 09-18-2009, 08:32 AM
  #1  
engineerjoe
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 234
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Help identifying old hulls

I bought these boats off a guy who was just going to throw them away (he said he inherited them from his wife's ex-husband)
The motors are probably junk, as well as the hardware.

I'm pretty sure the white one is a Aeromarine Apache 56, but does anyone recognize the motor? (promod homelite?):
Measures 15" by 56.5"




Next is a hull almost the same size as the apache but with a much shorter freeboard height:
Measures 15" x 56"



And last is a skinny hull that in my opinion looks really cool:
Measures 11" x 52"



I'm planning on fixing up at least one of them and probably sell the others.

Thanks for the help!!
engineerjoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 09:21 AM
  #2  
jacob711
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 826
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help identifying old hulls

the engine in the first one looks alot like a quickdraw 35cc which is a very good engine, the other 2 engines look like homelites, not as good as the quickdraw but still ok

the 2nd boat looks like someone got an apache and cut it down for less freeboard

3rd one i dont know
jacob711 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 10:24 AM
  #3  
engineerjoe
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 234
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help identifying old hulls

Thanks jacob

wow, yep, it looks like a 35cc QD. [8D]

i don't think the second one is a cut down apache, the bottom of the apache is a much deeper vee (higher angle)
engineerjoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 10:35 AM
  #4  
Justaddwata
My Feedback: (3)
 
Justaddwata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: RI-USA, RI
Posts: 6,070
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help identifying old hulls

I would have said #2 was a badly cut down apache too. Certainly looks like the deck off one.

The QD may be a 32 or a 35 (QD made both over the years though not many 32's in circulation). I hope she looks better on the inside than the outside - certainly did not see a lot of love (And QD's need a lot of love). A trip to the Dr's may be in order.

All three look like they could be salvaged with some work.
Justaddwata is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 10:43 AM
  #5  
engineerjoe
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 234
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help identifying old hulls


yeah, I imagine that engine needs some help. Supposedly all these boats sat in a shed for the last 8-10 years

now that i look at them a little closer I guess it might be a cutdown apache.

here's the back of the apache:
engineerjoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 10:12 PM
  #6  
coyv10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 202
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help identifying old hulls

Might be worth sending it to Quickdraw for Todd to look at it, may not cost that much to freshen it up..
coyv10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 10:14 AM
  #7  
Scott.b
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Coconut creek, FL
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help identifying old hulls

I bet that second hull would be areal screamer..A drag boat if you will.If you want to sell the second hull let me know as i may want to tinker with it.Thanks
Scott.b is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 05:50 PM
  #8  
Rocky46
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Junction City, OR
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I need help identifying this old hull.

Opps, I guess I can't post a picture.
Rocky46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 04:08 AM
  #9  
Tidnab
My Feedback: (51)
 
Tidnab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Clearfield, PA
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I sent you a PM.
Tidnab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 09:25 AM
  #10  
Justaddwata
My Feedback: (3)
 
Justaddwata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: RI-USA, RI
Posts: 6,070
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Rocky46 View Post
Opps, I guess I can't post a picture.
If you send me pics in PM I can post for you
Justaddwata is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 03:06 PM
  #11  
Rocky46
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Junction City, OR
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

PM box is empty. Don't know how to do that. It keeps asking for a URL. My pictures are JPG.
Rocky46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 09:03 AM
  #12  
Justaddwata
My Feedback: (3)
 
Justaddwata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: RI-USA, RI
Posts: 6,070
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Rocky46 View Post
PM box is empty. Don't know how to do that. It keeps asking for a URL. My pictures are JPG.
email them to justaddwata @ Gmail.com and I will post them
Justaddwata is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service