Community
Search
Notices
1/16th, 1/18th, Mini & Micro RC Cars Discuss 1/16, 1/18, Minis, Micros & any RC Cars smaller than 1/10th scale in this forum

NZ connection!

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2006, 03:45 AM
thatguyiscool

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NZ connection!

Hi guys, im fairly new to electric rc and i have a couple of questions about chargers for batteries. I live in New Zealand and I've just purchased an rc18b from America. I'm wanting to purchase a seperate charger, rather than the one that comes with the kit. In New Zealand our power source connections are differnet to yours in America, my question is, if i buy a charger from america and purchase an adapter so that i can plug it into my wall at home will the charger still work properly? (im not too sure if the voltage output in nz is different from that in America). Also can anyone tell me what the best charger is for a mini NiMH battery for 1/18 scaled cars ?(rc18b), price range around $80. Thankyou!!!!!
Old 06-30-2006, 04:41 AM
Makuku68

Default RE: NZ connection!

If you can get a Dynamite Ultra Peak AC/DC charger? You can use the alligator clips for the DC current and plug that into a 12Volt car battery or smaller battery for like a motorcycle. That might help you.

Mike
Old 06-30-2006, 06:36 AM
normanski

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Hello thatguyiscool,

I am pretty sure NZ has a 230v ac mains which is the same as Hong Kong. NZ is a lovely country which I love to visit again by the way.

The mains in the US is 110v ac, so if you have to purchase your charger from the US, make sure it will work with both voltages. Not all chargers accept 230v.

However, you can always consider buying one from Hong Kong.
Old 06-30-2006, 10:23 AM
nedMX

or australia.

but i reccomend going the DC charger route. can be a run off a 12v battery or a AC to DC power supply. i too had this dilema and ended up buying a DC charger from the states and modifying my old computer PSU to a 12v power supply.