Community
Search
Notices
1/16th, 1/18th, Mini & Micro RC Cars Discuss 1/16, 1/18, Minis, Micros & any RC Cars smaller than 1/10th scale in this forum

Radio Range Question

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2007, 10:55 PM
clutchbob

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Radio Range Question

I'm new to RC cars, but have been flying for 10+ years.
Can someone please tell me what kind of range I can expect with the 27 Mhz AM radio that came with my Mini T?
I could only go about 40 feet before I lost contact. I've since sent the radio to Losi service, this has to be a problem and not the norm(?)
What improvement would going to 75Mhz and/or going to FM give me? Range has never been an issue with my aircraft.
Old 01-15-2007, 11:47 PM
Racing T

Default RE: Radio Range Question

you will not have any problems with range with a 75Mhz Fm radio, but are you using your mini t indoors? when I had mine it gliched horribly indoors.
Old 01-16-2007, 02:28 PM
guver
My Feedback: (325)

I run my 27 AM systems nearly out of site. It is a 1/10 scale model and good visibility and cannot see which way the vehicle is oriented
(that's how far it goes with no glitching)
Old 01-16-2007, 03:18 PM
hunter306

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The stock Losi Electronics are terrible. I had the FM version of that transmitter (included with my Losi Mini-LST) and it would go about 100yards before glitching and acting terrible.

I'm not surprised that you're having similar issues with the even MORE cheaply assembled Mini-T RTR controller. Big thing is to make sure your antenna wires are oriented away from battery and motor leads, but really, you're not going to do much with the stock electronics.
Old 01-16-2007, 05:14 PM
Seek and Destroy

It's because of the junk electronics like hunter306 said. With the stock radio and receiver on my rc18mt I could get it out of sight before It would lose contact.
Old 01-16-2007, 05:51 PM
clutchbob