Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Lady Bug for wife?

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2003, 10:14 PM
Herb-RCU

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lady Bug for wife?

My wife wants to get a "cute" plane that she can learn to fly on. She likes the Clancy Av. Lady Bug but is it a good choice for a slow gentle plane? Would a Yard Bee be a better choice? (I'm informed that it isn't as cute). Are there better options?

I want a plane that uses a glow engine (since I have several other larger glow planes and don't want to have to buy all the electric stuff). I also would like to use an engine that has throttle control so she can get used to that and move up to her .40 trainer. I know that AP .061 has throttle control but is it any good? Also, I have heard that the engine doesn't last long. I do like its price but I'm afraid that I'll get what I pay for.

Any help is appreciated. I've never done this little stuff before and think it could be fun. I just don't want to waste my money and I want my wife to have fun too.

Thanks,

Herb
Old 10-11-2003, 01:00 AM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts
Default RE: Lady Bug for wife?

You're going to want to stick with a full sized Lazy Bee if you stay with the Clancy option.

The Lady bug would be SO overpowered with the 061 even at idle that it would not even be funny. Such a combo would most assuredley NOT a trainer bee.....er.... be.

The Lazy Bee with the 061 would be a lovely trainer from all I've heard. It only gets set up with more power by advanced guys that don't know the meaning of low powered fun.

PS: I don't know that much about the AP engine but I did see a few guys at a 1/2A flyin this summer with the Norvel 061's and I was most impressed with their throttle ability. The Norvel is only a few dollars more and has a more proven track record.