Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

HS 55 FAILURE

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2004, 07:48 PM
combatpigg
My Feedback: (3)

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
Default HS 55 FAILURE

HI Y'ALL! I've been using HS 55 servos for just a few months now, and I have 6 of them. I had my first failure on a throttle servo, and I found that the tiny red wire that leads down to the motor had been cut almost in half, only some of the insulation was holding it together. I immediately suspected that BRUCE had done it during the night, but it looked more like a poor cram job that was done at the factory, and the wire was cut by the edge of the circuit card. I'm happy that it was an easy fix on a non critical channel, but HITEKs' batting average with me is only 5 for 6, in a game where 99.9% is expected now.
Old 03-30-2004, 07:53 PM
jboy381-RCU

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: HS 55 FAILURE

good thing it was on throttle...it could have cost you a plane...you must have a rabbit's foot in your pocket...if it was me,i'd be one plane short...

john
Old 03-30-2004, 08:36 PM
rrragmanliam
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Same thing happenend to me. I examined all four of my 55's and it looked like they all would be affected by the same scenario( or perhaps I'm paranoid) I CA'd a small strip of rubber to the circuit board by the wire. Buy the way the failure was on the throttle also, crashed my first HalfWit due to it. Low knife edge pass, tried to add throttle to get the nose up, didn't happen, resulted in a spectacular cartwheel. Second HW in construction.

Rrragman
Old 03-30-2004, 09:48 PM
combatpigg