Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

Double Ported Golden Bees won't run well

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Double Ported Golden Bees won't run well

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2004, 12:42 PM
V. Sharp

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Double Ported Golden Bees won't run well

This old timer needs HELP!!, PLEASE!

Although I have been messing around with these little engines for 40 years off and on, it has been much too long since I have run them. They have been cleaned and re-assembled, with new gaskets and reeds.

Engines start fairly easily, and I set the needle valve to a rich two-cycle (breaking back and forth). When I release the plane, they run about one lap like a scalded dog, then lean out and die, time after time. The fuel is Byron 25% nitro, 20% castor. Any ideas why I can't get a consistent run??

Thanks,

V. Sharp
Old 07-25-2004, 12:51 PM
HighPlains
My Feedback: (1)

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Double Ported Golden Bees won't run well

What size prop?
Old 07-25-2004, 01:06 PM
V. Sharp

Re: prop sizes --

have tried Cox black 6X3, Cox grey 5 1/2X4, Graupner 6X3, all to the same effect.
Old 07-25-2004, 01:13 PM
mclintock
My Feedback: (3)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Is the fuel pick up tube on the outer edge of the tank, so it gets fuel when the fuel all sloshes to the outside of the plane, away from the (control) lines?...or The tube could be hard and leaking at the nipple so when it's sitting on the ground getting adjusted full of fuel it's fine, but going round, the engine starves as the nipple sucks air.. you are talking control line right??
Old 07-25-2004, 01:20 PM
V. Sharp

Both Controlline and R/C -- I have reintroduced controlline to a bunch of R/C fliers, and am flying a 24" 2-channel biplane that I built in 1978. Having the same problems with both!
Old 07-25-2004, 01:25 PM
combatpigg