Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

servo size and torque???

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

servo size and torque???

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2004, 12:32 PM
speedy1379

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default servo size and torque???

Hello all,
I'm building a small plane. It's powered by a norvel big mig 15. Wing span is 35" and the fuse is 36". It has a profile fuse and foam core wings. So far, it's been simple and straight forward, but I am a beginner at these smaller aircraft. I need to know what servos and receiver you guys use in a plane of this size? How much torque should the servos have? I have some with 12 oz of torque but I'm thinking that isn't enough. Can some one help me? Any and all help and tips are greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance,
Speedy
Old 08-31-2004, 01:59 PM
ptulmer
My Feedback: (5)

Default RE: servo size and torque???

Mini's would probably be best. You may be able fit some regulars in there for less $$$. How many servos do you need. 1 or 2 for ailerons...? Determining your finished weight would be a good next step. That way you can see what your wingloading will be with each setup. Attached pic has a 36" wingspan 26" long and an OS 15la up front. 2 mini's and 3 micro's (not submicro) and a fullsize receiver and 600mah battery.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk24987.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	36.4 KB
ID:	169113  
Old 08-31-2004, 02:32 PM
Andrew

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

A .15 on that size plane should perform like your name: Speedy -- unless it is very heavy.