Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

will a TT .07 last forever?

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

will a TT .07 last forever?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2005, 06:37 AM
rsay

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default will a TT .07 last forever?

i'm new to 1/2A but will be getting my feet wet with a Thunder Tiger GP07 on the way.

one question though, will this engine last forever? i've read in many of the posts here that the owners of cox engines and such have had their engines for almost a decade but they still work. does this hold true for the GP07?

i'll be using only methanol and castor oil for it, no nitro.

please pitch in any experiences you've had with this engine.
Old 03-16-2005, 08:12 AM
jessiej

Default RE: will a TT .07 last forever?

I have two of the TT .07s. The inevitable comparison is with the Norvel .074. The Norvel is substantially more powerful than the TT, but the TT .07 is a very pleasant, user friendly engine.

I have no experience running 1/2a engines with no nitro. Normally I expect smaller engines to require more nitro. I use 15% in my GP .07.

Will it last forever? Of course not. Given proper care and not run overly lean it will last as long as a Cox or any similar engine.

jess
Old 03-16-2005, 09:27 AM
propbuster
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It's my understanding that small engines need a high % of nitro due to the fact that they run cooler than the bigger guys. I don't have any experience with the TT.07 but I use 25% nitro and castor with my Cox engines. A couple of them are over 20 yrs old and still run fine.
Old 03-16-2005, 01:15 PM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

Welcome to RCU rsay.