Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

AP .09 or Norvel .074, and servo/reciever questions.

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

AP .09 or Norvel .074, and servo/reciever questions.

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2006, 08:42 PM
Terbough Bob
My Feedback: (10)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AP .09 or Norvel .074, and servo/reciever questions.

I'm new to the 1/2 thing and I have a Watt Age Giles 202 that I'd like to convert to nitro. It has a 36" span and the electric flying weight is 33 oz. Which do you think would be a better engine for this application. I'd like unlimited vertical, but don't want to hang a "big block" OS .10 on there for weight reasons.

The AP is listed as having ball bearings and is cheaper (through Tower vs. through Sig for the Norvel), but the Norvel is lighter and appears to produce more power and RPMs. I'm guessing the Norvel is the way to go, but if the AP will suit me fine, I'd just assume take the extra money and put it towards some servos... which leads me to my next question:

What servos and reciever would you folks recommend? Are GWS even worth opening a browser to look at, or are the HiTec '55's the way to go?

Old 08-21-2006, 08:53 PM
psullivan

Default RE: AP .09 or Norvel .074, and servo/reciever questions.

Well not so sure about your first question as I haven't used the engines. But your looking at 33oz with E maybe a lil more with nitro. HS-81s might be a better choice, but what servos are you using now? Was that 33oz ready to fly? You say you want lotsa power..
Old 08-21-2006, 09:08 PM
Terbough Bob