Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Ace Ultimate Bipe

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2006, 05:34 PM
BSARGE

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ace Ultimate Bipe

While waiting on my motor mount for my 1/2a shrike, I decided to keep working on an Ace Ultimate Bipe that BanjoAirplane gave me....I have never worked with or covered foam before....can someone suggest a decent brand of covering for foam, or any tips for covering it??

thanks
-Bill
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq47777.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	39.8 KB
ID:	550669   Click image for larger version

Name:	Nj25255.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	37.0 KB
ID:	550670  
Old 10-29-2006, 05:42 PM
vertical grimmace
My Feedback: (1)

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Ace Ultimate Bipe

Econokote has always worked OK for me. Be very carful when covering over bare foam as it is easy to get your iron too hot and melt the wing.
Old 10-29-2006, 08:28 PM
flyinrog

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I did it with monocote on low temp,been awhile though ,I just found my hobbico iron has started to creep up the temp control while I'm using it, last night while covering the shrike after a short time the knob would be all the way up! and melted some of my covering....Rog
Old 10-29-2006, 08:48 PM
combatpigg
My Feedback: (3)

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

Econokote is advertised as a low temp covering. It is really hard to do a perfect job over foam, even harder to keep it looking good. That tinted cellophane that I use is very low temp and very cheap.
Old 10-29-2006, 09:03 PM
rrragmanliam

Bill,

I've had good results on Ace foam Wings with econocoat, I've had better results with Micro lite covering. With both you just need to be sure to turn the iron temp down. I like the micro light better as it's lighter and covers curved surfaces and wing tips with better looking results. Be sure to lightly sand the bumps off the wings.

Darren