Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

Can I use a Tee Dee .049 as a pusher?

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Can I use a Tee Dee .049 as a pusher?

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2006, 12:12 AM
N331PC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can I use a Tee Dee .049 as a pusher?

Hi guys I’m new to this forum, well forums in general!!

But here is a quick question....

I have been designing flying wings for a few years using electrics, and have had pretty good successes.

Just recently i found a nice Tee Dee .049 stashed in an old RC parts box, and was inspired to throw it on a wing!

As a pusher!!?

after a little thought, i realized this may not be possible because the carb will be facing down stream creating a vacuum instead of receiving ram air as it would as a tractor
So if any one has experience with using nitro engines as pushers (particularly Cox .049s)
It would be great if I could get some info or a
Go or no go
Old 12-04-2006, 08:29 AM
DICKEYBIRD

Default RE: Can I use a Tee Dee .049 as a pusher?

Sure, it'll do great! The venturi issue isn't a factor. The 2 main issues are the prop driver thrust washer and cooling. Very early Tee Dees had a phenolic washer which is OK but not as good as the the nice, hardened steel washer that's on most of them. In either case, put a drop of oil behind the prop driver before startup and you'll be fine.

Set your needle a tad rich and the overheating shouldn't be a problem. If it does get too hot, try to find one of the clamp on heat-sink head adapters from one of the Cox cars and that'll fix it.

Oh, make sure you get a pusher prop!
Old 12-04-2006, 10:57 AM
old git

ORIGINAL: DICKEYBIRD
Oh, make sure you get a pusher prop!
This is the most important part. The rotary valve TD runs one way only, try a cheaper reed valve Cox.

old git - - - - - - - - aka John L.
Old 12-04-2006, 12:11 PM
skaliwag