Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

Beginner questions: Muffler pressure and trottle - Norvel 0.061

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

Beginner questions: Muffler pressure and trottle - Norvel 0.061

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2003, 12:25 AM
Scully

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner questions: Muffler pressure and trottle - Norvel 0.061

Sorry if these are stupid questions... I am a beginner.

1)Muffler pressure and bubles in fuel line - I seem to get a lot of these going to carb and a lot of foaming in the plastic tank.
Is this normal? It does not seem to affect running a lot, but there are lots of bubles in the fuel line. Any hints please? What I am doing wrong?
My tank is Norvel's BigMig standard CL tank with pressure relieve valve.

2)People here say Norvel RC needs muffler pressure to run well. I tried and found it works quit well (IMHO).
What I don't understand is how when I go to lower RPM engine does not seem to lean out badly. Really muffler pressure should drop a lot so this would result in much less fuel going in...

Is there a danger of leaning out RC Norvel 0.061 too much using carb?
Old 02-10-2003, 06:50 PM
2fast4u
My Feedback: (5)

1) The bubbles are due to vibration. If you balance the prop, that is about all you can do. If you use a regular tank, mounted in the fuse, then wrap it in foam to reduce the vibration and bubbles.

2) The muffler pressure is good for the R/C engine because pressure drops as rpm drops. If you use crank case pressure on the R/C engine it will flood every time you reduce the throttle. With muffler pressure, the tank pressure is following the throttle opening. Full throttle, lots of air into engine, lots of pressure, lots of fuel to engine... low throttle, small amount of air into engine, small amount of pressure, small amount of fuel to engine.